Back to Normal

Or for what passes as normal. The holidays are over. There’ll be no more 3-day weekends for a good long time unless I use vacation time and things can finally slow down. Ha!

The weekend was pretty good. My youngest nephew was christened on Saturday evening. You know it was a special occasion since I wasn’t home to watch the Texans beat the Bengals. However, I did make it home in time to watch my Saints play. Trust me, that was the quietest I’ve ever been for a game because in the first half, it seemed like Detroit had our number. I don’t know what happened during half-time, but that second half was everything I could’ve wished for. I was so proud of my boys in black and gold. So was the rest of the neighborhood. People started shooting fireworks. Others were walking down the street shouting “who dat”. It was almost like winning the Super Bowl all over again.

This is because last season we were knocked out in the first round of playoff games by Seattle. Damn those Seahawks! But we pulled it out this week and we’re off to San Francisco to play against an old division rival. I’m telling y’all, it’s been a long time since we played the 49ers in routine regular season games, but I still harbor bad feelings toward them. I mean, they always decimated the Saints. My youth was filled with intense dislike, yet complete respect, for Jerry Rice. *sniff* Let’s hope my boys can go there and handle business.

So yeah, I watched football this weekend. Took my mom out for breakfast and went roder a little while seeing what’s new in the area. I also worked my way through Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark series (for the 10th, maybe 11th or 12th time) because her newest release, Lothaire, comes out tomorrow. *squee!* I’m so ready for it, I’ll probably be up at 3 in the morning to start reading it. Sad, I know.

So here’s to another week. I hope it’s a good one for all of us.

2 Comments

Filed under Football

2 responses to “Back to Normal

  1. I’m ready to get back on track to a “normal” soon. With the holidays and all that stuff, I’m ready to get back on a schedule for sure!! Hope you have a SUPER week!!

  2. Sounds like a great weekend- a little social time, a little Saints time, a little mom time, and even a little Kresley time. AHHHH, perfection.

Leave a Reply

