They Should Be Called Howbigs

This isn’t a Cajun French lesson, so much as a south Louisiana culture lesson. Most of the world knows we love our food here whether it’s spicy seafood, savory gumbo, or sweet bread pudding. We love food.

There’s one thing I grew up with that I’m not sure if the rest of the world knows about. If you’ve visited here frequently, you’ve probably seen these little pies and you might have tried one. I’m not sure how far they actually deliver their daily fried pies, but I know I see them at gas stations and grocery stores. And they tempt me every. Single. Time!

When I see Hubig Pies, I’m immediately plunged back into childhood when getting a lemon pie and a coke (in a glass bottle) was my breakfast. Hey, I loved it. My hips and butt didn’t and I don’t care. Hubig Pies are little bits of Heaven in your mouth.

*** Y’all can thank me for putting my diet at stake for this blog post because I had to eat this pie after taking this picture. “And there was much rejoicing” to quote Monty Python.***

The company was formed in Fort Worth, TX and branched out to New Orleans. Unfortunately, in 1922, the Depression impacted Simon Hubigs’ chain leaving only the New Orleans location standing and it’s still there today. Hubigs Pies are daily made and delivered throughout south Louisiana where they’re gobbled up.

They come in all flavors: Lemon (my mom’s all-time favorite), Chocolate, Sweet Potato, Apple, Coconut, Peach, and Pineapple. They also do banana, strawberry, and blueberry sometimes.

I’m telling y’all, this stuff is goooood. I try my best to avoid them these days. It’s funny how growing older makes you conscious of how good the bad things are, isn’t it? They’re just so…mm’mm. I love the chocolate, of course. It’s like a chocolate pudding in a thick, sugary crust. Pop it in the microwave for a few seconds and OMG *faints*

Where was I going with this? Oh. So I checked out the company’s website and discovered that they ship these bad little boys and you can buy them by the CASE! I wish I didn’t know…I mean, a whole case of Hubigs Pies? That’s like begging for a heart attack. Unless you share them with others, but who would want to do that?

Have you ever heard of these pies, or had one? Do you want to go in with me for a case? Just kidding, I wouldn’t share it with anyone, but dole out the good evilness one half-pie at a time.

5 Comments

Filed under humor

5 responses to “They Should Be Called Howbigs

  1. I’ve never heard of those! Oh, but they sound HEAVENLY! Love lemon! Thank you for putting your diet aside for this post. WAIT, no, I don’t thank you cuz now I WANT ONE and I’m not sure they’re out here in the DESERT!!! *grin*

  2. Jillian

    YUM!! I have not had this brand but I’ve had a pie like them from a service station- Chocolate. It was good. I’ll be on a quest for these my next trip over.

Leave a Reply

