12 Yats of Christmas

As you all know I normally reserve Thursdays for Cajun French. Well with Christmas coming up, I needed to post something local as a nod to the holidays. I’ve already done “Walkin’ in da woods with my parrain” (I think last year, or the year before) and “A Cajun Night Before Christmas” so I had to go digging. And what I found is local flavor, but not Cajun.

No, today I’ll be exposing y’all to “Yat” which is considered an English dialect specific to the Greater New Orleans area. There’s a distinct difference between Yat and Cajun, but we all understand each other, or so it seems.

Today’s post is a song by a band called Benny Grunch and the Bunch, a New Orleans group who had a whole album dedicated to the Yat language. The song “The 12 Yats of Christmas” is heard on local radio stations throughout the holidays. Most people get Bing Crosby, this is what we get and I have to say I love it. Okay,we get Bing Crosby too, but this is more fun.

I made sure to find a video with the lyrics on the screen so you’ll be able to understand what they’re saying. Merry Christmas, y’all!

2 Comments

Filed under humor

2 responses to “12 Yats of Christmas

  1. LOL!!!!!! This is hysterical.

Leave a Reply

