Little Red

Today marks the start of another color theme. This month’s color is red in honor of Christmas. That doesn’t I’ll be playing a load of Christmas songs, by the way. Nope, this month I’ll be playing songs with red either in the title, the band name, or lyrics.

The first song in this series is one of my favorites from childhood. I’ve mentioned before how eclectic the music in our household was when I was growing up. This song is one that seemed to play every single time my dad picked me up to bring me to his house for the weekend.

Even now, thirty years later, I remember clear as day riding in his blue Oldsmobile while he had Sam the Sham and the Pharaohs blasting out “Little Red Riding Hood”. He’d drape one hand over the top of the steering wheel and keep time by flicking his fingernails against the dashboard. We’d sing and howl the entire drive to his house.

Ah, memories. I hope you enjoy the first in the red theme. Trust me, I have some great ones this month!

6 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

6 responses to “Little Red

  1. KAK

    Aaaaooooo! I mean, baaaa? Baaaah

    Man, I’ve loved this song forever too. Something about his voice and the tambourine made it sound dirtier than the lyrics really are.

    • LOL you’re so right. It sounds so suggestive and naughty when all he wants to do is walk with her and kiss her which is something I caught when I was a kid. This is one of the few times I didn’t have to go back and read between the lines for a song from my youth, LOL

  2. OK doll…I LOVE that song SO much I bought an oldies CD with it on it….AHOOOoooo….LOL

  3. Love, love, love this one. It’s on the soundtrack to the book I’m going to wrote after I finish the one I’m on now. Thanks.

  4. Write noWrite not wrote. Ipaditis strikes again

Leave a Reply

