The Family Suggests

I was sitting around with the majority of my female relatives on Thanksgiving Day afternoon. I don’t know how we got on the subject of things we’ve been witness to, but after a while, everyone started shouting suggestions for blog topics.

The majority wanted me to blog about my aunt and her misunderstanding of a certain phrase. I didn’t find out about this until summer and I was oh so tempted to tell y’all about it, but didn’t think she’d appreciate it. However, her daughters insist I share it with you so sit back and enjoy the story.

My aunt was in the store with her 17-year-old daughter. She saw a lady with a pair of cute thong sandals (you thought I was going to say panties, didn’t you?). She really liked the stranger’s sandals and said, “Nice camel toes!”

You’re dying aren’t you? Yes you are. I was dying. My sister was dying. Everyone was dying except for my mom who didn’t know what it meant either. My cousin (the teenager) said she thought her mother was going to be murdered in front of her. You see, my aunt had heard the phrase and thought it referred to a type of sandal, not…the unfortunate-looking crease a woman gets when wearing tight pants. So, yeah, my aunt complimented/insulted a complete stranger on her camel toe.

No, she isn’t allowed out in public anymore; at least not with her daughter who has told her mother she can’t use slang terms anymore.

It wasn’t until later that night that I had to explain to my mom what it was. She laughed (she isn’t about to be left out!), but had no clue what camel toe was. Poor things.

I swear, with a family like this, I don’t need to make up stories!

Have you ever had to deal with a similar problem with generation gaps?

6 Comments

Filed under humor

6 responses to “The Family Suggests

  1. OMG! This is great! So freakin funny! I love your family!

  2. This is totally making me snort my tea this morning. LOL!!!!!!! Hysterical.

  3. HEHEHEHEHEHEHHEHEHEHEHEHE! I love it. LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

