The Holidays Are Here?

I have satellite radio. It’s become a necessity for me. I travel a good ways for work and having commercial free music at hand keeps me sane. It’s also great when I have to go on long road trips in areas where radio reception is poor. Satellite radio rocks.

So I get e-mails from time to time about special programs they have coming up. Yesterday I received an e-mail about holiday music. I blinked. Holiday music? Already? But…we haven’t even stuffed ourselves like the turkeys we eat! How can we start having Christmas music?

I knew it was coming, of course. I’ve been in the stores. I’ve seen the Christmas displays right next to the Halloween aisle and I was weirded out. Are people really ready to start the Christmas season? I mean…I could understand it in areas up north where the weather has begun to turn colder, but down here we have two days of cool weather and then it’s back to the shorts and flip-flops. It doesn’t feel right for Christmas.

Don’t get me wrong. I remember very well several Christmases when we were running around in shorts because it was nearly 90 degrees, but I was a kid back then. It didn’t matter if it was cold or hot, I was always ready for Christmas. Now that I’m older, I need to work up to the holiday season. I need that Thanksgiving turkey and the subsequent napping to get in the frame of mind necessary for Christmas. I don’t need Black Friday. In fact, I cower in my house the day after Thanksgiving and think of all those poor souls waiting in line for deals and thinking how smart I am to do most of my shopping online.

But Christmas music…already? Every year my mind goes through the same questions. Should I listen to Christmas music this year? It might make me feel more…seasonal and less like a grouch. But God, I can’t STAND this song! Gah! Where’s the Megadeth? So yeah…It’s quite a struggle for me and to start receiving notices that seven commercial free channels of holiday music are now at my disposal just make me go whaaaaa?

How about you? Do you think it’s too soon for the holiday season, or have you been ready since January 1?

5 Comments

Filed under humor

5 responses to “The Holidays Are Here?

  1. I KNOW!!! We have music through our cable, and I’d been listening to Halloween music on one of the channels. Nov. 1st, they changed it to Christmas music…ugg. I love music of all styles. But 2 months of it? NO, NO I SAY!!! I’ll hear enough of it in the stores…poor employees.

  2. Too soon!! I do love my satellite radio, though AND I can choose to ignore those Christmas songs a bit longer.

  3. Like you, I have to wait until after Thanksgiving before I can get into the Christmas spirit. Just because I’ve started my shopping doesn’t mean I want to listen to the music (or watch the movies) yet. There’ll be plenty of time for that!

Leave a Reply

