Sweet Georgia Brown

As y’all know I have pretty eclectic taste in music. When I embarked on this color theme, as I mentioned last week, I had a set plan for what songs would appear on What’s Playing Wednesday.

Then I did more research. There are a lot of songs I remember hearing via my grandfather, my parents, my uncles and aunt, and even my sister and it’s sometimes hard to recall titles. This is one of those instances. Of course, this song is recognizable in a completely different way.

Around 1950, the Harlem Globetrotters adopted this song as their theme song. You can hear it in your head, can’t you? Well, after a little more research, I discovered the song “Sweet Georgia Brown” was written in 1925 by Ben Bernie and Maceo Pinkard. Ben Bernie and his Hotel Roosevelt Orchestra recorded the song in the same year and spent five weeks at No. 1.

Doing some more snooping around, I came across this original clip of the orchestra performing the song. I hope you enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

2 responses to “Sweet Georgia Brown

  1. So wicked cool that you found this clip. Love it.

Leave a Reply

