The Three-Timing Writer

Last week, Erin Kellison blogged over at Darker Temptations blog about story brain. I had to bow my head after reading her post because I knew myself to be a two-timing cheater. Yes, I’ve cheated on my WIP with another WIP.

Oh, sure, I covered up my actions by saying it was for NaNoWriMo. It even worked for a while. I went through a whole week working on two WIPs, the word count creeping higher and higher. When I lost momentum on one story, I moved to the other and vice versa. It was lovely.

And then I woke up this morning, my heart racing. Not with guilt, but with anticipation. I could see the characters forming, the plot linking together so perfectly my hands itched for a keyboard. The dialogue flowed from hero to heroine and back again, their motivations speaking to me. I started to twitch with the need to write. The temptation followed me through my morning routine and on the morning drive. It dogged my steps, leaving me with the urge to toss my other two loves aside and gather the newest one to my bosom (I’ve been reading a lot of historicals lately).

I have a new story idea. Well, that isn’t entirely true. It’s an older story idea, one I’ve let stew for two months. I tried writing that story, giving it the old college try, but the spark didn’t ignite the fires of my imagination. I put it aside and turned to my other love (read WIP). Until this morning when that same story returned with gale force winds. Yes. It’s ready to be written.

Except I already have two WIPs to work on. Does it care? No, it doesn’t. Even now it taunts me with witty dialogue and steamy love scenes. I try to look away, but I can feel it in the back of my mind.

Do you know what this means? It means I’m a three-timing writer. Yes. I’m going to work on that story as well as the other two, balancing all three like jealous lovers. Will I survive? Well…come November 30th, we’ll find out.

And I leave you with the words from my paranoid 17-year-old cousin:

Don’t judge me!

LOL

Was that melodramatic or what? Lord, I had no idea I had it in me. *makes a note to save this post* How about y’all? Are any of you two-timing, or maybe three-timing, writers/readers? Because you can be a two-timing reader. I’ve never managed that, but I’m sure it’s possible.

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “The Three-Timing Writer

  1. I have three-timed many stories! HEHEH

  2. You can be a three-timing writer but not a two-timing reader? Really? I’ve been known to be a two-timing reader, but the second book was usually one I had read before (i.e. Twilight – yes I love the series, so sue me!).

    But I don’t think I could be a two-timing writer. My brain has enough problems keeping one WIP straight in my head. I’m sure I would end up putting characters from one book into the other!

Leave a Reply

