The Wait is On

I’ve mentioned before that my brother and his wife are expecting their first baby. Well, our little Bennett will make his long-awaited appearance this week. Tomorrow morning, my sister-in-law goes to the hospital in the wee hours of the morning to be induced.

It’s been nearly twenty very long years since we had a baby in our immediate family. I looked forward to my cousins’ children being born, but this is different. This time it’s our baby. I sat with my sister-in-law last night and put my hand on her belly to feel the baby. Of course he didn’t move for me. He’s going to be a stubborn little you know what just like his dad.

We’ve all mused for nine months about his personality, his size (my brother was 11 pounds, 15 ounces and 23 inches long when he was born), how much hair he’ll have, and any number of things. It’s exciting to know we’ll finally be able to meet him.

Pardon me for being a goofy aunt-to-be. My boys, my babies, are grown-ups now although I still call them baby and try to coddle them. Bennett is going to be so spoiled it won’t be funny.

Oh, but what will be funny? I’m almost positive my brother is going to provide me endless hours of amusement in his new role as a father. He’s scared of babies which cracks me up. He’s this big hulking man, but attempt to put an infant in his arms and he starts to freak out. His wife will make sure he has plenty of practice though, I have no doubt.

And you know I’ll have to share all of his stories with y’all, so there’s entertainment in this for you guys as well!

8 Comments

Filed under Family

8 responses to “The Wait is On

  1. Ohhh. What an exciting time. I hope everything goes well. Enjoy the new baby!

  2. Can’t wait to hear how it goes. Let us know!! Wonderful fun is in store with you as you watch him be a dad!

  3. KAK

    Fortunately, I just got the micro-loaf pan, so I’m all set. πŸ˜€

    So excited for you, Auntie!

Leave a Reply

