The Dreaded Synopsis

Yesterday I talked about how great it felt to know my agent liked my first novella. What I failed to mention is my complete dread of the synopsis I now have to write.

It’s horrible really. It’s just a summary of the story from beginning to end, but I always feel as though I’m trying too hard to summarize. Either I put too much information and end up with a dissertation on an erotic romance, or I have too little. It’s either Hemmingway or Faulkner, no Avet. It drives me insane.

I’ve even taken workshops on synopsis writing, but it just doesn’t compute. It’s like being in Math 101 all over again. I get that sick feeling in my stomach, the words jumble (and start to look like numbers *shudders*), and my palms sweat.

Why is it so hard? I wrote the story, I know everything about it, but when I attempt to put it into as few words as possible, the story seems flat and uninteresting. I can write blurbs. I love writing blurbs, so I’m going to attempt to take the blurb I wrote and expand on it and get the synopsis down to one page. I think I can do it that way. I hope I can, otherwise I may go insane.

What do you do when you have to write a synopsis? Or are you one of those lucky few who enjoy writing the synopsis?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Dreaded Synopsis

  1. Anyone who loves to write a synopsis has to be a freak of nature. LOL!
    I HATE them- My stories are so witty and charming (SNORT) and it’s hard to get that across in a synopsis.

Leave a Reply

