Cajun French: Chu-Chut

I’d completely forgotten this word and it’s one I’ve used many times in my life.

Chu-Chut (pronounced exactly how it’s spelled, only fast), is a thingamabob, a doohickey, a whatchamacallit. It’s a thing you either can’t put a name to, or have no idea how to describe it. I don’t know about you, but sometimes I can’t remember what something’s called. It could be an everyday item like a stapler, or something more exotic.

Of course having a word to call something doesn’t mean I avoid coming up with my own name for it. I remember being in fifth grade and helping a second grade teacher decorate her bulletin board. I wanted to pull the staples out and instead of asking for the staple remover, or a chu-chut, I called it a staple-puller-outer. Needless to say she found that highly entertaining.

She probably wouldn’t have known what I was talking about if I said chu-chut anyway. Unless I mimed removing staples. Maybe that’s why we tend to know what someone’s talking about when they say chu-chut. Cajun French would be nothing without hand movement. I have mentioned before how we talk with our hands, right? It adds a whole new layer to the language and helps give listeners context clues as to what in the hell they’re talking about.

So what do you call chu-chuts? Do you call them thingamabobs, thingamajigs, whichimadiggies? I’m interested in your comments!

6 Comments

Filed under humor

6 responses to “Cajun French: Chu-Chut

  1. Jillian

    I call it a stapler-puller-outer. LOL! As far as thingamabobs, I call them dilly-boppers, doo-hickeys, etc

  2. Around here when a name doesn’t pop to mind we signal with an impatient hand and request the ‘doomaflitchie’. Sometimes with its purpose to differentiate which doomaflitchie we need.

    As in standing on a ladder while holding a trough of sheetrock mud and needing the wide mud knife. (Yeah, it gets really hard remembering a word like ‘knife’ with clumps of mud blopping down on your head! lol Especially when said ‘knife’ looks more like a paddle. Men and their tools; it’s like a secret society with code words.) You gesture toward the pile of equipment with the trough while you dig mud out of your eye with the other hand and yell, “I need the WIDE mud doomaflitchie! Quick!” Hubby usually says ‘thingamabobbit’. (A totally different language, but at least we understand each other.)

    • I think these kinds of words are universal…if I didn’t know what you meant by a doomaflitchie, I’d think…”okay…what could she need right now?” and try to work my way from there

Leave a Reply

