October Orange Theme 1

So uh, this is my first time posting in the new color theme I made up for myself. If you’re just tuning in, I’ve challenged myself to find songs each month to fit whatever color theme I choose. Because someone mentioned they’d love to see what I came up with for orange, well, here it is.

October is orange month. Kind of fitting since that’s one of the theme colors for Halloween. Which I never really understood. Who came up with these things anyway? Who said “orange and black” look amazing together and we should find a holiday for it. Oh, I know, Halloween! *snickers* Right, right, logically I can understand it. Pumpkins are orange and jack-o-lanterns have been used for centuries to drive away evil spirits, yada, yada, yada. But it has no style! If Tim Gunn of Project Runway were designing a holiday, I can promise you orange and black would not be included together.

Anyway so this month I have to find songs that either have the word orange in the title, in the lyrics, in the band name, or seem orange…ish. To my surprise, I managed to find a few that I think will entertain y’all.

First up, is Johnny Cash’s Orange Blossom Special. This performance is from the San Quentin State Prison in 1969.

That’s one orange song down with three to go!

What color would you like to see next? (And let’s stick with primary colors folks, I don’t want to see puce in the comments.)

11 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

11 responses to “October Orange Theme 1

  1. KAK

    I am totally tuning in for song color challenges. And starting off with Johnny? Twelve shades of awesome.

    So, you gonna turn your blog background orange to match the theme? ~flees~

    • Glad you’re digging Johnny!

      And no, so not color coordinating the background to the themes…although that would be kind of cool except I’d be stuck with it for a whole month!

  2. Ohhhh….Johnny. LOL
    Try BLUE! I love blue!!

  3. Jillian

    Knock, Knock.

    Who’s there?

    Orange.

    Orange. who”

    Orange y0u glad I didn’t say puce?

  4. Jillian

    I say red- Ruby red!

Leave a Reply

