Cajun French: Pooh-Deein

Okay, I’ll be honest…I don’t know if this word is really Cajun French, or if it’s a bastardized Cajun English word. I picked it because after spending time with my godson last week and over the weekend, I heard it so many times, I had to use it.

Now, according to the Urban Dictionary, pooh-deein (pronounced pooh-dee) is a word used to describe something overgrown, like a car with a lot of grass beneath it. I would translate that to mean trashy, or junk. My nephew and his friends though, use the word to describe each other’s X-box 360 skills.

Aw, man, you pooh-deein!

I asked him what he thought it meant and he said it means you stink. I suppose it could work as well. Used the way he and his friends use it, it could go either way.

I have a feeling I’ll be using this word a lot tonight. The Saints are playing against the Packers and they’ve been pumping up the fact that it’s the last 2 Superbowl winning teams playing in the first regular NFL game of the season. I’m nervous. I’m worried the referees will miss something important…in which case I’ll be screaming at the television…

Aw, ref, you pooh-deein!

I’m tempted to tell my brother-in-law that. Did I mention my sister, brother, brother-in-law, nephews, my cousin’s husband, and I are playing fantasy football? Yeah well my BIL sent out his first bit of smack talk of the season and guess who he’s playing against? Yup, me.

His fantasy QB is Aaron Rodgers and his fantasy defense is the Saints. Hello? Conflict of interest! His defense will be working against his quarterback and vice versa. I told him he’d better hope his defense doesn’t do well, otherwise he’d be the one crying like a little baby…or something like that. *sniff* He’s pooh-deein.

 

UPDATE:

I just heard from my Cajun French speaking informant who has never heard this word. He said what he thinks the kids are trying to say is pourri which means “rotten”. It would be pronounced “poo-ree”, which is close enough, don’t you think? Those poor kids. I knew they were bastardizing something! LOL

5 Comments

Filed under humor

5 responses to “Cajun French: Pooh-Deein

  1. LOVE IT. Thanks for the lesson. This word is just fun to say. LOL!!!!!

    Have a great day.

  2. Bastards!!! LOL! I love these Thursday posts. Keep ’em coming!

  3. LOL, glad you enjoy! Of course, I found out it isn’t correct, but it’s still fun to say
    +1

Leave a Reply

