Remaking Ram Jam

Le sigh. Well, the blog tour is over. *sniff* I’m actually kind of sad. It was fun meeting so many new people and learning their thoughts on things like kick ass heroines and things like that. I’m also glad in a way because it frees some of my time for writing and beta reading. Did I mention I have a smoking hot story to read by my friend, Avril Ashton? Oh yes, this thing is so hot, my hard drive has threatened to melt!

But that’s not why we’re here today. No, today we’re here to talk about music. That which soothes the savage beast. The summer remake series has been so much fun, I don’t want it to end! But I suppose I’ll have to bring it to an end this month *sniff* Then I’ll have to come up with another theme…maybe a different theme every month. Something! Don’t worry, I’ll figure it out.

Now if you don’t know who Ram Jam, don’t be upset because you’ve heard their song. I know you have. You have to have heard of “Black Betty”. You know, that wild, dueling guitar anthem of the 70’s. Well, I don’t know if it was an actual anthem, but it should’ve been. It’s one of the most kick ass songs from the 70’s…okay, not counting Black Sabbath’s stuff or AC/DC or Sweet or…you get the idea. It was originally recorded in 1933, but that Ram Jam version is just…wow.

Whatever.

Anyway, this song is near and dear to my heart. And I have no idea why. When I hear it I think of my aunt. I don’t know if this was something she listened to, but I hear it and I remember her wearing those short shorts she had, her halter top, and the long, flat hair. Or her big bell bottom jeans and her fuzzy t-shirt with her feathered hair. Crazy, huh?

I also think about the movie Kung Pow! Enter the Fist. Yes, I know, not exactly high-brow entertainment, but I love it! And I can totally see the evil one kick butt while this song plays. *Makes a note to watch the movie again soon*

In 2004, a band called Spiderbait remade this song. Actually, a lot of people have remade it. I just took a peek at the list and was floored. It’s a popular song! So which do you prefer? The 1970’s version of the one from 2004?

The sort of, not really original:

One of the most recent remakes:

 

4 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

4 responses to “Remaking Ram Jam

  1. KAK

    YAY for blog tours and WiPs that melt the hard drive.

    Dear Black Betty, she’s a popular girl. I admit, I like ’em both. Is facial hair a requirement to do a cover of it?

  2. I know this song and love it. I can’t listen to the remake at this time as I’m in court and they would prob frown on what I’m guessing it sounds like.

Leave a Reply

