Waterlogged Labor Day

Greetings all! Before I jump into today’s post, I’d like to remind you that I’ll be over at Bea’s Book Nook guest blogging. The awesome book tour is almost over. I’ve met so many wonderful people in the last six days of blogging and had a ton of fun.

But this weekend wasn’t all fun. I’m sure you’ve all guessed that we had a tropical storm roar through, ruining what should’ve been a great weekend. Yup, Tropical Storm Lee dumped lots and lots and lots of rain on us. Just when it looked as though it was over, another rainband passed through leaving us with even more water on the ground.

It was so bad my dog almost had to swim through the yard to do her business. She was so not happy about that. The old cat, on the other hand, was cranky as always and determined to have someone sit outside with her. She actually climbed in my lap…sort of. It was more like she stared at me and my lap as though she was trying to figure out if it was worth jumping.

Right now I’m sitting on my porch and looking at the sky with the hope that the rain has gone away for a little while. I haven’t left the house since Saturday morning and I can only imagine the bayous are swollen and threatening to spill over their banks. Over 10″ of rain in three days will do that to them though.

The only true positive about storms like this is that it lowers the temperature drastically. Where Thursday we were melting in 99 degree temperatures, this weekend it never made it out of the 80’s. *happy sigh* It’s so nice not to sweat for once.

As for Lee…well, my thoughts go out to those who live northeast of us since that’s where the little bugger is headed. Be safe y’all!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Waterlogged Labor Day

  1. Oh boy. They don’t need any more storms up there, do they? Gosh. I’m sorry you got rained on so much. Stay safe.

  2. We are just now being hit by rain. No flooding yet. *fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

