Guest Blogger: Kristin Miller

Today I have the awesome Kristin Miller visiting with us! I met Kristin in NYC and thought she was so great, I gave her carte blanche to discuss whatever flipped her Twinkie.
Take it away, Kristin! 

Thanks so much Danica, for having me as a guest on your blog! I’ve been a fan of your work, and your site, since we met at RWA in NYC and I was beyond thrilled when you asked me to visit.

Since you gave me free reign (mua-ha-ha!) over the topic today, I’d like to talk about something a little different. 

The Writing Bubble.

We all have one. It’s the place we go, either physically or mentally, when we get on a roll. When the words flow, we’re taken away, diving into the story head over feet. The words could turn out to be absolute shit, but they’re running like rivers damn it, so we bow down to our muse like she’s the holy Dalai Lama. (Besides, polishing garbage into gold is what the editing stage is for, right?)

But how does one stay in the Writing Bubble to keep those words churning? Some writers have to create new material in coffee shops, sucking off the hiss of the espresso machine and the buzz of gossiping caffeine addicts. Some write at home, locked away in a private office with an afghan on their lap and a retriever at their feet. Other writers can create anywhere as long as certain music is playing through their headphones or certain children are quiet. Ahem.

Come into my Writing Bubble for a bit, would you? There’s a wooden desk in the corner and a Dell laptop with fading keys. Take a seat in my plush leather chair and admire the lovely orchid I never have to water. Notebooks, one for each story idea, are stacked to the right. Coffee cups and granola bar wrappers are scattered to the left. Depending on what book I’m working on, you’ll hear music, too. During writing sessions of my latest release, Intervamption, Pink and Dashboard Confessional blared from the speakers—you know, the beautifully tortured stuff. For Vampires of Crimson Bay #2, releasing this winter, I listened to a whole lot of Annie Lennox and Stone Sour. (What that means, I’m not quite sure.) My current work, the third book in the Vampires of Crimson Bay Series, is demanding the soothing melodies of Ben Harper and Joshua Radin.  

There are times I’m so lost in my own thoughts, that the world outside becomes a tool, living and breathing for my story. Movies spark ideas that then translate into my books. Strings of overheard conversation become inspiration for dialogue between my characters. In that place, that wonderful writing sanctuary, words spill onto the page and books are built in months. But there are other times—like when a bad review cooks my goose or I see the well-deserved success of my writing peers—that self-doubt thins the layers of my sublime bubble. Writing becomes jagged and words don’t fit right. Like weathered skin stretching over too tight bones.

Though it’s hard to remember while we’re drifting through those doldrums, the coolest part of the Writing Bubble is that it’s yours and yours alone. It never goes away. It’s always there, waiting for brilliant words to bloom once more. Whether you have to catapult your ass into action by dragging your laptop to a different coffee shop, or move your desk so that it’s facing another window, you can breathe life into your words again. You just have to make a few changes, either physically or mentally, and you’ll be rockin’ right along in no time.

What does your Writing Bubble look like? And where do you find that you write best?

Blurb:

Slade, a fallen assassin, has been given a second chance. Called back into action for an unknown task, Slade must shift into what he hates most: a vampire. When he awakens, an instant attraction ignites between him and his sexy vamp teacher, Dylan, who’s been assigned to show him the ropes. Dylan’s orderly life blew up recently when a rogue vampire killed himself right before her eyes. On top of that, her pride and joy, ReVamp—or the Rehabilitation Facility and Management Program for Vampire—is in major trouble. She’s been accused of providing infected blood to the locals, weakening them and making them easier prey for their enemies, the shape-shifting therians. Forced to question long-held allegiances, Dylan and Slade have no choice but to trust in each other as mayhem reigns around them.

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=intervamption 
~Amazon is offering the first chapter free.

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/intervamption-kristin-miller/1103176649?itm=1&usri=intervamption&fmt=1000

Books on Board: http://www.booksonboard.com/index.php?BODY=viewbook&BOOK=1073531

Vampires of CrimsonBay#2 will release from Avon Impulse December 6th, 2011.

Bio:
Kristin Miller has had a passion for language and literature her whole life. Born and raised in Small TownUSA, she often made up stories about faraway places and edge-of-your-seat adventures.

After graduating from Humboldt State University with a degree in psychology, Kristin realized there is no scarier place than the warped human psyche. Wanting to combine her love of writing with her desire to paint twisted villains, Kristin wound up in the unlikeliest of places—the classroom. She taught high school and middle school English before giving in to the desire to create her own world, where villains can be sympathetic and heroes can be devilishly good.

Find me:

Website: www.kristinmiller.net

Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/KM_Miller

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1222405.Kristin_Miller

11 Comments

Filed under Writing

11 responses to “Guest Blogger: Kristin Miller

  1. You’ve been reading my mind! Ah, the writing bubble. I trigger mine with coffee. It usually works whether I’m on the couch with the laptop, in the chair at the desktop, or at a coffee shop shelling out for cappuccino. Having three young kids necessitates writing when i get the opportunity, even when the bubble is thin, thin, thin. I enjoyed your post!

    • Once again, I have to say that I admire moms who write, or writers who are moms (whichever you prefer). I don’t have children and sometimes I feel like I can’t find the time to write! Y’all are an inspiration!

  2. Wow, LOVE that cover. It is eye catching. The blurb sounds great, too. 🙂 I’ll go check out InterVampton. 🙂 Good luck and it was a pleasure to meet you, Kristin. Danica, you always have the most interesting books on your blog. 🙂

  3. Hey Kristin,
    Just bought your book at our last meeting, and have to say, very tasty! I loved hearing about your bubble. On the Dr. Dre headsets – Guilty! I can go anywhere and take the bubble with me. Now, if I could only take my PJs and fuzzy slippers too, I’d be all set. I have worn them down to the drive-thru at Starbucks, though.

    Fun seeing you here. Danica – you’ve found a jewel. We love her in SF!!

  4. Miranda–I feel your pain! I have two little ones running around and sometimes I feel more like a referee than a writer. Keep the coffee flowing and glue those fingers to the keyboard!

    Ciara–Thanks for commenting! I was graced by the cover gods for sure!

    Oh, Sharon, you made me blush. I’m so glad you’re enjoying it. There’s so much more pressure knowing someone you know…and admire…is reading your work.
    (And I’m sittnig in my pjs as I type this, so…yes. Guilty as charged.)

    And Danica, as I said before, you’re a doll for having me. 😀

  5. I love this. I never have called mine the writing bubble but I like the sound of that.

    Good luck with your sales. I love the cover of your book.

  6. I live for those zones where inspiration comes from almost everything around me…so few & far between! I can’t wait to see books 2 & 3!

  7. Jillian–Thank you for the cover love! I like to think of my writing space as a bubble, because I can let the worries of the world bounce off it. For that writing time (however long it lasts), I’m secluded…even if my desk is smack dab in the middle of the living room.

    AJ–Aww, thanks for stopping by to comment! I can’t wait to see books 2 & 3 too! I hear Avon is working on book 2’s cover now and we should have a name very soon. As for book 3, well, I guess I need to finish writing it. 😉

Leave a Reply

