Remaking Peter Gabriel

It’s me again, back with another song in the summer remake series! I came across today’s song years ago, but had forgotten about it until a couple of weeks ago. I love the original and the remake is just outstanding (or at least I think it is…so far y’all are not liking my remakes!) 😉

Peter Gabriel is one of those musicians who can do pretty much anything and you’re kind of dragged along for the ride. How many of you sing along to “In Your Eyes” when you hear it? Or “Sledgehammer”? Remember that video? Yeah…weird. But before Say Anything and Peter’s amazing success with “Sledgehammer” and “Big Time”, he had a song called “Shock the Monkey”.

I remember this video because it was so weird and I felt sorry for the cute little monkeys. Now the way the video is you’d think it’s a song about animal rights, but according to Mr. Gabriel, it’s a song about jealousy and how it can reveal your basic instincts. *shrug* Whatever, it’s a good song.

In 1999, an alternative metal band called Coal Chamber teamed up with none other than the Prince of Darkness himself, Ozzy Osbourne for the remake. It’s hard, it’s edgy, it’s downright awesome as far as I’m concerned. Of course, this isn’t supposed to be about me, but you. So what do you think of the remake?

The Original:

The Remake:

8 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

8 responses to “Remaking Peter Gabriel

  1. Have to stick with the original for sure on this one. 🙂

  2. YIPES! OZZY??????????? REALLY????????????

  3. KAK

    Oooo, demonic sing-along. I’m voting for the remake on this one.

    (It only has a little to do with the fact I’m in the Phil-over-Peter camp)

  4. I have to stick with the original on this one. 😉

Leave a Reply

