Back To Normal?

Is it possible to hit the rewind button on life? Someone should really invent one because if I could, I’d hit that sucker and go back a couple of weeks ago before everything went bonkers.

I’m not going to reiterate the problems from last weekend, but you can read about it here. No, this weekend offered its own problems. As I mentioned on Friday, our a/c went out. With 102 degree days, I stayed home to make sure my animals were safe and as cool as possible while waiting for the repairmen. They replaced our unit and everything went back to being cool.

For twenty-four hours. That’s right. Saturday night, after a nice time at my sister-in-law’s baby shower, I decided to do some writing. I was feeling the buzz of creativity which means I stayed up later than usual. I stepped into the kitchen to replenish my water and smelled something “off”. I called in the mother lode to find out if she smelled it too.

Yup. Something was burning in the house. We called in the cavalry (my uncle and brother) to do some investigating. We looked all over the house for the problem but couldn’t find it. So I called my cousin’s husband who’s a firefighter. He suggested opening the air conditioner door and turning the a/c on. It’s a damn good thing he did that.

Yes! We had flames coming off the a/c motor! Frantic calls to the repairmen at nearly midnight resulted in them telling us they’d try to show up the following day. They did, by the way, but Saturday night was spent in full on “this-is-almost-as-bad-as-post-hurricane-electricity-outages” mode. Luckily, we have fans and turned those suckers on the circulate the air as much as possible.

Sunday dawned and the guys showed up…only to say they’d have to return on Monday to replace the cooling coils. *slump* They fiddled with the unit enough that we could turn it on, but not nearly as cool as we like it. The house started cooling off again…then the electricity went out.

As we were sitting outside watching the stormy weather, I looked at my mom and said, “Obviously we weren’t meant to have cool air this week. It was destiny.”

So what has fate thrown your way lately?

4 Comments

Filed under humor

4 responses to “Back To Normal?

  1. YIPES!! I would have been furious over that. I mean, really, you get a new a/c and it immediately fries?? How can that be? I feel your pain – heat and humidity are killers this time of year. I hope you get some relief soon!

    • I was not a happy camper at all last week or this weekend. I keep expecting the big Monty Python foot to appear and squash me, LOL. Hopefully everything will be fixed (perfectly) this afternoon.

  2. Oh man. That’s one of my bigger fears is my AC unit crashing when it’s 117 outside. UGH.

Leave a Reply

