Remaking Michael Jackson

Okay people, snakes, broken toes, and magic kitties aside, it’s time for the summer music remake series! Yay!

Last week most of you chose Metallica’s version of “Whiskey in the Jar” which means for the first time since I started the series, the remake won! Wow! Who knew there were so many Metallica fans?

Anyway, today we’re tackling the King of Pop. I can freely admit that when I was a child, Michael Jackson was the coolest musician ever. As I got older, I found that I liked his music less and less. Now, now, before you decide to pelt me with white gloves, I’m not saying he was a bad musician. The man was beyond gifted. A talented musician and dancer, he was a true performer. See? I can be good!

It was hard for me to choose which song I wanted to show off. One of them was actually featured on American Idol. David Cook performed Chris Cornell’s (of Soundgarden and Audioslave) version of “Billie Jean” which I adore. However, I had to go with this song because it reminds me of my nephew.

The band Alien Ant Farm remade Michael Jackson’s “Smooth Criminal”. I have to say I love this version. It’s fun, it’s exciting, and that guy can hit those Jackson-esque high notes. I also love the video.

So what do you think?

The original:

The remake:

 

8 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

8 responses to “Remaking Michael Jackson

  1. KAK

    Ya know, Smooth Criminal is my favorite MJ song. According to my iTunes playlist… I’ve listened to AAA’s version 173 times and MJ’s 166 times.

    Take that as you will.

  2. Where’d my smiley face go? and my ?

Leave a Reply

