Remaking Gerry Rafferty

Yay for Wednesdays! They’re just the best ever…well, not better than Fridays, but they’ll do.

In continuation of my summer remake series, I’ve picked one of my favorite songs of all time. Seriously, this song is one I could listen to no matter when or where and jam. Every time I drive to my uncle’s house, we pass through a little community that has a street named Baker Street. And every time I see the sign, I say, “I want to live on Baker Street.” It’s been like this obsession with me since I first heard Baker Street by Gerry Rafferty.

I just love it. So when the Foo Fighters did a remake, I was very critical of it. I mean, I love the Foo Fighters. Dave Grohl is one of those musicians who can do anything he puts his mind to and this remake proves it. Sure, I’m sure most people on the poll today will go with the original, but you have to give the guys credit. They took a very recognizable song and made it their own, substituting the saxphone riffs with guitars and changing the lyrics just a little.

What do you think?

Original (RIP Gerry Rafferty)

Remake (Go Foo!)

8 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

8 responses to “Remaking Gerry Rafferty

  1. Nobody messes with Gerry Rafferty!!!!

  2. I do like the Foo Fighters but I’m with Lynn on this one. I guess I’m just not a fan of remakes

  3. KAK

    Ah, the song that gave rise to a bazillion new sax players…which is the part I love best about the original. The rest…I’m all Foo.

  4. That’s one of my all-time favorites too!

Leave a Reply

