Dark Journeys

As many of you know, I’m writing a Christmas novella. Without going too much into it (because I want y’all to read it), I’m putting a different spin on Santa Claus and his reindeer. Some people might not approve, but…I don’t write for those people. Sorry y’all, whomever you are. I write for readers who want something different and exciting and maybe a little kinky.

Yes, I said kinky on my blog. *big gasp* I’ll admit, I keep things here pretty clean (except for Fantasy Man Fridays) and relatively PG rated. That isn’t what I write though. It still kind of amazes me how I’ve grown as a writer. I’m not just talking about the gradual understanding and grasp of writing mechanics, but how I push my personal boundaries.

I remember when I wrote my first sex (yes, I said sex) scene for Ruby: Uncut and on the Loose. I sat in front of my keyboard blushing like an old maid. I had to stop and fan my face because I just could not believe I was writing that stuff! The same went for Succubus-in-Waiting and Lifestyles of the Fey and Dangerous. Granted, I figured what I was writing was just hot romance. When Siren took all three went to Siren to their erotic imprints, I was…surprised and a bit shocked. But it seemed to have done something to me.

I was in the middle of writing Ain’t No Bull and a change came over me. I was writing hotter and dirtier sex scenes, exploring options I hadn’t really thought about before. I took a break from that story for about three months and started writing my Greek book. That’s when the real Danica emerged. The characters were raw, naughty, more vocal about what they wanted and they used language I hadn’t considered very sexy until…well, now. When I got back to Ain’t No Bull, that same edginess carried over which means my 4th Veil book has warnings on it *giggles* Sorry, that still makes me grin.

*cough*

Now back to the novella. I started out with the idea that it would be hot like my Greek book and Ain’t No Bull, but again, I pushed my limits. And was amazed at what my characters wanted to do. I never thought I’d write about dominants and submissives, or bondage and discipline, but um, yeah that seems to be what my characters enjoy and I’ve found that I can’t deny their needs. Does that make me a dominant? Hm.

Oops, sorry! Er, what was I talking about? Oh yes, writing. I really am talking about writing people. Honest. We often hear how we should push our limits, push the boundaries of our imaginations, and I couldn’t agree more. In that push, you learn more and more about yourself as a person and as a writer.

As writers we have to be brave explorers even when we’re scared to death of what we’re writing about. We want to transport our readers to a different world, but how can we do that if we don’t explore our fears and darkest secrets? So don’t be afraid of your own dark journeys. Embrace them wholeheartedly and you just might surprise yourself.

**By the way, these explorations don’t have to be sexual. It can be exploring plot points that make you nervous, characters who are darker (or lighter) than you’re used to writing, situations that scare you, or anything along those lines.**

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Dark Journeys

  1. Pingback: Fantasy Man Friday | Unearthly Musings

  2. I’m glad you’re pushing your boundaries and I can’t wait to check this one out.

Leave a Reply

