Remaking Queen (and David Bowie)

It feels kind of funny write a blog post the day before it’s due. I didn’t blog much at all last week because of Nationals and I found that I missed it. I guess this really means I’ve turned into a blog whore. I can only hope y’all enjoy the blogging as much as I do.

Last week we had Cake taking on Gloria Gaynor and I knew before I put the post up that everyone would vote for Gloria. I can’t really blame them because she was pretty awesome. That’s a song that will definitely survive. Ha!

Continuing with the summer remake series, we have Queen featuring David Bowie. I remember when the song, “Under Pressure” came out. It was such a great song. I was a big fan of both David Bowie and Queen so when they did this song together, I was powerless against it. It’s a deep song, yet catchy as well. Two emo bands came together a few years ago to remake it and I think they did a good job. Sure, it isn’t David Bowie and Queen, but who is?? My Chemical Romance and The Used remade this song and okay, I like it a lot. What do you think?

The original:

The remake:

 

11 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

11 responses to “Remaking Queen (and David Bowie)

  1. I *adore* My Chemical Romance. I llluuurrrvvvee that version. (Gosh, I missed my guitars so much at Nationals…)

    • I missed my music. I left my MP3 player at home, which just about killed me, but I figured I needed to get out of my head-banging frame of mind and into something a little friendlier, LOL. I like the remake as well. It’s pretty good and gives a modern slant to it and today’s issues. I hope it gives this generation something to think about!

  2. I’ll have to stick to the classic on this one. 🙂

  3. I hope you had a great time at Nationals. I love the original.

  4. I love My Chemical Romance but who could ever replace Queen and Bowie? Sorry, my old brain can’t substitute one for the other although the MCR song is pretty good.

  5. Apparently, that tremendous bassline was actually forgotton by John Deacon! He had been playing it non stop and then they went to pizza and he forgot it! Luckily, drummer Roger Taylor remembered 😀

Leave a Reply

