Remaking The Commodores

I apologize for not having a blog post yesterday. The internet was down the majority of the day and by the time it came back on, I’d lost all of my ideas for blogging. I’ll try to make up for that next week.

This time around for the Summer Remake series, we’re going a little further back than the 80’s. There were so many great bands from the 70’s who gave us music so great, they deserved to be remade. Today’s song is one of them.

There are some bands that have music so fresh, it lasts for decades. I think The Commodores is one of those bands. I mean, c’mon. Great lyrics, great rhythm…they were awesome! So is it any wonder another band came along to remake one of their songs? Probably not.

What might surprise you though, is to discover that one of the bands who covered The Commodores was a band known for their very unique style. Faith No More. I can’t remember where I first heard this particular cover, but I do recall that the minute I heard it I loved it. Hard. I mean, really. It’s that awesome. Honestly.

This is one of the songs that I can take either version and be completely happy about it. It could just be because I like the song and what it means, or I could be weird. I’ll go with the first option though.

Here’s the original:

And here’s Faith No More’s version:

8 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

8 responses to “Remaking The Commodores

  1. Hey, they didn’t do too bad on that remake. Still have to stick with the classic, but had to give the remakers some props. . . . 🙂

  2. KAK

    Love that Faith didn’t turn it into a screamo version. I might have to go with the remake; though, it’s close, really close.

    How weird is it to see Lionel Richie before all the plastic surgery, eh?

    • You’re so right. Considering the wild music Faith No More turned out, it’s surprisingly a relaxed remake. I love the video too, LOL

      And I always find it funny to see clips of musicians before the days of plastic surgery. *cough* Cher.

  3. GUURRRLLL!!! Love these guys! Reminds me of the cool guys on the band bus that also had a rock band- they rocked this song, baby!

  4. No one throw anything at me, but I’m not a fan of this song. Is there something wrong with me? Everyone else loves it, not me. Of course, I’m always odd girl out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

