Remaking Wham

You knew it was coming, didn’t you? Yeah, this is one remake I had to post. Why? Because when I was a kid this was one of my favorite Wham songs. I thought George Michaels was so cute! I didn’t care about his short shorts and pink shirts. I thought it was cool. Of course I was like eight, but in 1984…well, let’s just leave it at that. The 80’s are sacred.

So imagine my surprise when I’m driving in my car a couple of  years ago and I hear a familiar guitar riff that isn’t…acoustic, but there’s no pretending I didn’t know it. I frowned at the road, feeling my foot press down on the accelerator because there are some songs I don’t want remade. I was angry and my eight-year-old self was insulted that someone would have the nerve to remake this song!

Then I listened to it and I realized that though the song is a lot harder than the original, it’s still on point with the acoustic, sweeter version George Michaels did back in 1984. Seether did a great job on this remake, giving it a more raw and painful edge that I appreciate as a 34-year-old who’s lived life.

What do you think?

The original:

The remake:

13 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

13 responses to “Remaking Wham

  1. I loved Wham and in fact, still listen to them on cd. I was distraught when I learned George is gay. Broke my poor llitle heart, it did.

  2. that would be LITTLE- been in court and lost the ability to type!

  3. I love Wham and the 80s is a great decade for me. It was a time when all I cared about was what I was going to wear and if I was going to fight with my BF or not, but the Seether version ROCKS!

  4. KAK

    Zomg, the grade school dance replete with the raging hormonal angst and drama — that is what I will forever envision when I hear the Wham version of the song. At least with Seether, I can do the Y2K retrospective.

  5. Nothing could compare to the emotions I feel when I hear the original. It’s just a song that had such an impact during an awkward time of life.

  6. see, I have to vote D – love ’em both!

Leave a Reply

