Our Bundle of Trouble

I haven’t mentioned anything until now because I wanted to know for certain what we were expecting. You’re probably wondering what the hell I’m talking about, huh?

Well, my baby brother and his wife are expecting their first child. I know. I’m going to be an aunt again! My mom is over the moon. My sister is ecstatic. I’m kind of wary. Why? Because baby brother’s baby might end up a total bad ass. Not because of my sister-in-law or my brother, but because he’s our first nephew/grandchild in 20 years. 20 years! I see nothing but spoiling in this child’s future.

When we found out they were expecting, the speculation ran rampant. My brother weighed in at 11 lbs, 15 oz when he was born. He had a full head of hair and the hospital had to raid their toddlers clothes to find him something to wear. My sister-in-law says she wasn’t a very big baby, so she’s hoping their first child won’t turn into babyzilla. Not that we would mind either way. My brother was a sturdy not-so-little thing.

I actually can’t wait for my brother’s reaction to holding the baby for the first time. He’s a big guy (as you can probably tell from his birth weight), so when a newborn’s in the vicinity, he’s almost running the other way. It started with our oldest nephew; he held him because he was made to hold him, but the look on his face was all “ZOMG, I’m going to break it!” Now he has no choice but to hold his child…I’m going to have a camera ready.

Then of course we all wondered what they would have. Would it be a little girl my mom could dress in bows and ruffles ? Or would it be a little boy who I’d have fun buying cool jeans and funny T-shirts for? Well, we found out yesterday they’re having a boy. Aunt Danica is very pleased with the news.

Not that I have anything against girls. The few we have in the family aren’t girly and delicate. No, Ma-Meg (cousin’s 9-year-old) is a horror movie loving, kickboxing Amazon who is nearly as tall as I am. But I worried that a little girl would end up being treated like a little princess. *shuffles her feet* Okay, so I would’ve spoiled her rotten and bought her pink dresses and hair bows and zombie movies, just like I did with Ma-Meg.

A boy though, I can teach about car appreciation. “You see that car? That’s a nice car. 400hp stock. You need to buy your Aunt Danica one of those when you’re rich, okay?” A little boy I can be rough and tumble with and maybe take him skating so he can go all kamikaze on me and try to take me out like a speed-skating demon.

So there you have it. We’re expecting a little boy, which is going to be so much fun since my nephews are too old to be cool anymore. *mumbles* They were okay until they graduated from high school. Now, I wouldn’t mind strangling them. Lucky for them my brother stepped up to the plate and is giving us another little boy to come up with cool nicknames for and make up songs about him.

Congrats to baby brother and sister-in-law. I can’t wait to see what kind of trouble this baby turns out to be!

 

11 Comments

Filed under Family

11 responses to “Our Bundle of Trouble

  1. Congrats to all on the news- as a mother of boys, I can’t recommend them enough! LOL! Such fun times are ahead for all of you!

  2. Yay. CONGRATS. How exciting!

  3. KAK

    YAY!

    ~runs off to pick the best Meat Loaf song for the big day~

  4. A big congratulations to you! I just love the way you describe your niece and nephew. The first born niece in our family was a little princess until she turned 13 then she became a mini-dragon lady. She was a bit spoiled, but she’s not rotten … just assertive. I’m wishing one of my siblings or their significant others would pop out another baby. The youngest is now three and growing up too fast. I get a little sad sometimes and wish for the day when my nieces and nephews were still babies. Of course I handed them over to their parents when it came to changing the diapers.

    • I have no children of my own, so my nieces and nephews become my pseudokids. I get to spoil them, love on them when they’re sweet, and when they start acting up, send them home to mama and daddy LOL

      • Oh yes, when I take out the kids I like to think of them as rented DVDs … to be enjoyed for a few hours then back to their owner. I do love them to bits though. I have the best of both worlds–loving kids that aren’t mine.

  5. Babies are great. Especially the kind you can give back to the parents!! Send my congratulations to the happy couple!

    Stop by my blog (http://stacysrantings.blogspot.com), I’ve given you an award. 🙂

Leave a Reply

