A Pleasant Pain

As most of y’all know, RWA Nationals is right around the corner. It seems like it took forever to get here and now that it is, I’m slightly panicked by the thought. Oh, not in a “Oh-my-God-I-have-editor/agent-appointments-and-think-I’m-gonna-hurl” kind of way. I’ve been lucky that last year it was too late to set one up and this year that I have a fantabulicious agent I get to meet for a chat. No pitching sessions for me. Yay.

No, I panic because of clothes. Last year I wore flip-flops and sandals most of the time which sounds like a great thing, right? Oh no, my second toe went numb by the second day and I didn’t get feeling in it again for at least two months. This year I’ve resolved to avoid those types of shoes. Actually, it isn’t the shoe thing that worries me. Like I said, it’s all about the clothes.

This is New York we’re talking about. Bryant Park. Tim Gunn…God forbid I wore something bad and he saw me. He’d think I was a disaster area in need of help from FEMA. So saying, I went shopping this weekend. Last year I went with just my sister and we stayed around town to pick up a few odds and ends. It was okay. This time though, we recruited the mother lode, loaded up the car, and hit the outlet mall.

I tried on so many things that I never ever would have picked for myself. I had to put my foot down on some items because…I am so not a ruffles type of woman. *shudder* I haven’t worn ruffles since I was five and those were the only kind of undies my grandmother would buy me. Thank God those days are over. I can firmly say “Hell no” to ruffles. I tried it on to appease my sister, but thank the lord she didn’t say it looked good.

I even managed to fit in a pair of capris two sizes smaller than I wore last year. Yay for dieting! I still have a long way to go, but I was happy that I could see some progress. When it was all said and done I spent more money on clothes than I ever have in my entire life, including what I bought last year, most of which I have to get rid of now since they’re too big.

So what am I complaining about? Well…I suppose I should be glad that the day was pleasant, but I hate shopping. I don’t know if it’s the trying on clothes that I hate, or the exchanging of money. Put me in a book store, or at a perfume counter and I’ll go buck wild (yes, I also bought new perfume and smell sweet today because you know I have an issue with smelling bad). Clothing stores, shoe stores, and okay, anything not related to books or perfume and I freak. It just seems like a waste to me when I have perfectly worn clothes at home. Yes, I still have some T-shirts I had in high school and college which was…a while ago *cough*

It was nice though. I now have clothes that may not shame me at the conference and that will be comfortable to wear. I’m still wincing over the total cost, but it’s worth it, right? I mean, I have to look presentable, right? I can’t just walk around in my jeans and band T-shirts all the time…right?

Oh, and to top off the weekend of torture…I bathed old cat yesterday. It was a two person effort and we were positive she’d slash our throats, but she was surprisingly good. I was in charge of the washing while Mom held her immobile (or tried to). I think I’ll be seeing Ty’s big green eyes glaring at me for several weeks to come. She didn’t attack us at all, just kind of had all her claws out waiting for us to get close to her. Later, after I dried her well and let her clean herself, she jumped in my lap and let me brush her. And no, she didn’t go for my femoral artery either.  Poor kitty.

So that was my weekend. How was yours? If you’re going to Nationals, have you done your shopping yet?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “A Pleasant Pain

  1. Jillian

    I hate to clothes shop, too. I usually buy it, take home, try on and hate it. It would be easier to go ahead and hate it in the store, right? lol

    I only bought one new dress for the trip. Most days, Bryant Park is full of tourists and pigeons and they look worse than me.

    • LOL, we’re more alike than I realized, Jillian! Yeah, but it’s Bryant Park! *squee* I’m a Project Runway fan sooo…yeah, that’s just awesome, LOL

  2. I HATE shopping. Seriously. Most kinds of shopping, including grocery, drive me bonkers.

    I hope to attend RWA next year since it’s on my side of the US. 🙂

    Congrats on the two sizes smaller. That’s freaking awesome!! 🙂 Enjoy RWA, okay?

  3. shopping does suck! i always shop online! Congrats on losing weight! Diet is an ugly four letter word to me….but i need to say it more often.

    I left hubby at home and went to the beach with my 2 boys. We played at the pool all day friday and toured the Outer banks on saturday. we hit jockey’s ridge (it almost was not worth it until the hot hang gliders climbed up to where we were). then we hit Wright brothers memorial, three lighthouses (bodie, cape hatteras and ocracoke), took 2 ferries to get the the mainland and headed home. it was a busy but really fun time (i have a 4 and 7 year old)!!

  4. I’m with you on the clothes/shoes shopping. I hate it. And now you tell me I need to go out and get some clothes for Nationals? Ugh!

    What’s wrong with wearing jeans and t-shirts? Huh? Well, I guess I won’t, but I prefer comfort over fashion any day! I’m still wearing my sneakers, though. My feet would go on strike if I didn’t!

    • LOL, you don’t need to go shopping, no. I had two reasons for it the last two years. Last year, I had only jeans and T-shirts. I needed nice casual clothes. This year, I’m meeting my agent for the first time in person and all the clothes I got last year are too big. I’m all about comfort as well, so everything I got is stuff I don’t mind wearing. Thank God!

Leave a Reply

