Remaking Phil Collins

There’s still time to get your name in the hat to win a specialty Mardi Gras mask! Just leave a comment on Monday’s post about the top 10 Fantasy Men and you’re entered to win! The contest ends tonight.

Today marks the start of my summer remaking the song series. In place of the regular What’s Playing Wednesdays, I’ll be posting the original song and a current (sort of) remake of the song. Please keep in mind that the songs I pick are ones I love to listen to, but don’t necessarily know anything about the video (which is probably a good thing). And sorry, most of them are going to be metal or rock remakes. Please don’t leave me!! Come back! I promise they’re good covers!

Unlike movie remakes, I sometimes enjoy song remakes. I’m very serious about my music and have been known to attempt to put my foot through a speaker if I hear a remake that I hate. Or at the very least, scream and change the channel. It’s a passion and if you remake a song I love and you screw it up, I will loathe you forever and ever. That’s just how it goes. I can give you a million examples, but I’ll just stick to the ones I like.

Today’s song is one we’ve all heard. It’s probably one of Phil Collins’ most well-liked songs, In the Air Tonight. I remember when this song came out, it was an instant hit. Dark, brooding, but with such a catchy hook, it makes you want to listen to it at the highest volume and play air drums. Or is that just me? Cause I totally rock at air drums, air guitar, and air mic (yes, I pretend to sing as well).

One of the bands I’ve seen in concert, Nonpoint, remade this song and I think they did a pretty damn good job with it. They added a little more of a Latin slant to it and I think it gives this timeless song new life. What do you think?

The original:

The remake:

9 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

9 responses to “Remaking Phil Collins

  1. Hmmmm. I have to stick with the original, but I’m diggin’ this remake, too. Wow!! Like the edge to it!
    NICE!!

  2. KAK

    Oh, I like the new theme for Wednesdays!

    This week, I’ve got say I love Phil’s special brand of creepy. It lingers.

  3. Couldn’t help it- I’m a Phil fan all the way!! The new version is great, but I love me some Phil.

  4. I’d stick to the original. Sorry I’ve been MIA. Hubby had surgery. Glad to see ya again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

