Cajun French: Bouder

Thank y’all for letting me rant and rave yesterday. My blood pressure was up and the red was coming out in my hair, but I think I got it all off my chest. I think. I’m sure if I see something idiotic, I’ll have another flip-out, but I’ll try not to go off here on the blog.

But yesterday’s rant did give me the perfect opportunity to use today’s Cajun French word. This is one word I use all the time without even realizing it. Bouder, pronounced boo-day (emphasis on the boo), means pout, or sulk. How many times did Mom tell me to stop bouder’in’? Well, I can’t even fathom how many times because I was a very pouty child when I didn’t get my way.

It always started off with something simple. You know, like this:

Mom: No, you can’t go sleep at Renee’s house.
Me: Please, please, please??
Mom: No.
I start with the lower lip sticking out and glared at her.
Mom: Get that bouder off your face. You’re not going.
Me Glaring and pouting harder.
Mom: I mean it! I don’t want to see that Annie bouder!

Annie was my paternal grandmother and as much as my mom loved her, she hated it when I’d give her the look my grandmother had perfected. Yeah, I apparently look a lot like Ma-Maw Annie and when I’d bouder it would really get Mom’s goat. Tee-hee.

So as you can see, the bouder is just like using the word pout.
What are you pouting about?
What are you bouder’in’ about?

Don’t pout!
Don’t bouder!

So what do you think? Do you plan to use this word? And just for fun, here’s a perfect bouder!

 

You just know her mama told her she couldn’t go play! So cute! LOL

6 Comments

Filed under humor

6 responses to “Cajun French: Bouder

  1. Okay, that’s a cute picture. I love this word. How fun!!! Happy Thursday!

  2. OOH Yeah!! I love this word- and I’ll be tossing it about.

  3. KristinaC

    Wow! I had no idea that there was a separate term “Bouder” for sulking. I grew up in Woonsocket, RI, which has a very large population of Quebecois immigrants. My mom’s family came from Canada to work in the mills a few generations ago. They all spoke French, but by the time we were born, she had stopped speaking it fluently. When I was growing up, she would speak what I call “random French.” Dinnertime? Manger! Bedtime? Deudeu, I don’t know if that’s spelled right. (It sounds like DooDoo.) Other gems included paresseux when we were lazy and cochon when we burped at the table. “Tete de pioche” was for when we were stubborn. And then the pouty face! My mother always explained it like this: when we pouted, it was the “boudin” face, from the French “faire du boudin,” or “to make blood sausage.” “‘Go make the boudin face somewhere else!'” she would always tell us. Now I’m curious, though! Did she really mean “bouder,” but because of her dislike for boudin associate it with poutiness? Or (since they do sound similar) get them mixed up? Or can “faire du boudin” still be a legitimate slang term for a sulky child?

  4. Heidi Reed

    I’m happy I found this because I’ve never known how to spell it. But I say it all the time.

Leave a Reply

