Bravery

Greetings, friends! I’d like to take a moment of shameless self-promotion if I may. Tomorrow I’ll be guest blogging at Haunted Dreams, Dark Destinies with a giveaway. I hope to see some of y’all there for a chance to win a mask!

So this weekend was action-packed for the most part. I got my hair done and it looks great. The rest of the weekend was spent with family. A lot more family than I thought I’d see.

You see, my uncles were in town. One of them went to my brother’s father-in-law’s camp for fishing and oyster “hunting”. The other uncle, my parrain, stayed at my house for the weekend. Yesterday he decided he was going to fix the light switches in my bathroom. Um, you see, I’d broken both of them. Not intentionally, but at some point over the last few years, I flipped the switches and snapped them off. *cough* Okay, so I don’t know my own strength *flex*

Anyway, apparently he bought the wrong switches to replace the ones I broke. This meant we had to make an emergency call to my cousin’s husband who’s an electrician. When he came over, he arrived with my cousin and their two sons (ages 4 and 7). It was fun watching the kids go crazy, but it was the youngest who really snagged my attention.

As I’ve mentioned many times before, I have a very old, very cranky, mean cat named Ty. She’s going to be 14 this year, so she’s earned her attitude. And everyone in the family knows of her temper…except the 4-year-old. She was sitting on the steps away from everyone because we were irritating her…because you know, we were breathing? George, 4-year-old, decided he wanted to go inside and climbed the steps next to her.

She growled and slashed out at him. Did he scream? Did he run back down the steps? Nope. Not George. George is fearless with animals. He continued until he stood on the top step and turned around with a scowl. He pointed his chubby little finger at her and snapped, “Stop that!”

We were all amazed. Ty has seen six kids in our house and every single one of them has leapt away from her with squeals when she snarled at them. This is the first time a child stood up to her. I don’t think she knew what to do with herself. Her bad ass reputation was now damaged! She crawled down the stairs and off the porch, grumbling all the while.

I suppose my cousin gave George the right name because like St. George, he “slayed” the dragon, but he did it without swinging a sword. I think the story of his actions will become legend throughout the family and when he gets older, we’ll talk about his bravery in taming the beast time and time again.

11 Comments

Filed under Family

11 responses to “Bravery

  1. HA. This is GREAT!!! Go GEORGE!

  2. KAK

    LOL! Chalk another one up for the males of your family.

    I will now return to imagining the numerous situations that led to unleashing your wrath upon the hapless light switches.

  3. Awesome story- I can just see it!! Good for George.

    Have we learned “parrain” in our Cajun lessons? Did I miss that one?

  4. Fearless George. I love it. 🙂

  5. Lovin’ little George and his big bag chubby fingers!!! LOL! Too cute! See you on your tour:)

Leave a Reply

