Pick A Card

I have to say I adore being in the RWA. Sure, there are tons of awesome workshops and stuff to do, but the people are the ones that make this organization the very best. Case in point, I met my fabulous critique partners through the RWA and they’re beyond awesome.

As many of you know, Daisy Harris (she of the Ocean Shifters series and hot, naughty stories fame) is one of my critique partners. Not only is she great at helping me see beyond my creative stubbornness, but she’s also a great marketer. A few weeks ago, she showed me this site called www.romancetradingcards.com and suggested I give it a try.

I was scared. I’m not a technical person. I don’t know how to do all those photoshop thingies and okay, I also don’t have the patience for it. However, I saw the benefit in romance trading cards. So I pulled up my big girl panties and decided to give it a shot. If they came out horribly, I could always keep them to myself as a sign of my failure and I could weep copious amounts of tears as I munched on a Snickers and drown my sorrows with a 40oz beer. I’ve done that before.

Anyway, I followed the very in-depth how-to steps on the site and with the help of my mom (who loves that technical stuff), figured out how to do it. I made two cards for each of the books in my Veil series and I’m quite proud of them. As a writer with a limited budget for marketing, these cards are great. I’m not going to RT this year, but Daisy is and she was sweet enough to take some of my cards with her to hand out.

So these are the cards I made. They’re not as nice as the ones I’ve seen, but as a complete noob in the world of photoshop and stuff, I think they came out well. If you’re looking for something to give out to readers as a way to entice them to read your books, I don’t think you could go wrong with a few of these.

  

  

  

Okay, so I had a lot of fun making these things, more than I thought I would, that’s for sure. Once I figured out how to make them, it didn’t take long to make and the cost, while more than I’d like to spend on anything (can you say cheap?), wasn’t terrible.

For those of you banging your heads on the wall trying to think of some cool little favors to hand out for giveaways, you might want to look into these. For anyone who has won in the past, if you’d like a set, shoot me an e-mail and I’ll send a set to you.

Happy Tuesday y’all. Tomorrow’s release day, so expect craziness on the blog (and a giveaway)!

6 Comments

Filed under Writing

6 responses to “Pick A Card

  1. Interesting idea! Wouldn’t it be fun if all novels had trading cards?

  2. KAK

    I’m loving this new trend of Romance Trading Cards… though, I confess to realllllllly enjoying the Mardi Gras Mask you did for Ruby.

    • LOL, thanks. I have one more set to go for this series (I’ll be glad to get that box off of my bookcase!), so there’s a chance to win one of the silver masks. And then I have some “specialty” masks which were lagniappe for us. I let my mom, sister-in-law, and aunt have at them and what they came up with was amazing! I’ll have to take pictures once I can get to them and maybe hold a special giveaway or something.

      I’m so glad you like your mask 😀

  3. Wow. That’s so cool. I’ve heard a bunch about those cards. I’m gonna have to break down and try it as well! The pictures you posted are great!

Leave a Reply

