Cajun French: Intensifiers

Yay for another Cajun French/English lesson! Today is going to be a good one, I think. I’ve actually had to tap into some Cajun resources to keep this post string going. I’m sad to say I don’t actually speak Cajun French. My grandfather was beaten at school for not speaking English, so he never taught my mom, nor any of his grandchildren. It’s sad really, but I think my generation is trying to win that back. Or I hope so at least.

Anyway, it’s cool today. Weird. Earlier this week we were in the 80’s and now it’s in the 50’s. Personally, I love it, but some people don’t. That’s what brings me to today’s lesson. Intensifiers. Writers know these are bad things when you’re writing. They’re filler words, but we use them anyway because sometimes you have to. Really, very, real, etc. are all words we use in our everyday dialect to convey emotional intensity to the word it precedes. Make sense?

Well, Cajuns don’t believe in them. Or, I should say…”Intensifiers? We don’t need no stinkin’ intensifiers!” We double the word an intensifier would modify. Here are some examples:

Mais, it’s cold cold.
or
Mais, it’s hot hot!
This place is bad bad.

Now, I’m posting a clip here from a Cajun comedian named Poo Poo Broussard. He looks awful, but he’s a riot…um, to us at least. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched his videos and cracked up! He’s done spoofs of Titanic and E.T. which leave me gasping for air because he’s dead on the money with how we would react.

In this video, he’s talking about his lips being chapped. I’m pretty sure you can understand him, but if you can’t, drop me a comment and I’ll interpret, LOL

Funny stuff, huh? So do you use intensifiers? Or are you like us and say “mais, we don’t need no stinkin’ intensifiers”?

Before I leave you…I have two very, very special guests tomorrow for Fantasy Man Friday. I’m serious y’all. You’re going to love what I have planned for you! It’s going to be fun fun!

10 Comments

Filed under humor

10 responses to “Cajun French: Intensifiers

  1. KAK

    LOL! “Shoo, chap chap”

    I think my favorite intensifier has to be … the double-crackle of gum. When Mom’s southern accent thickens and that little bit of Dentyne gets a workin’ I don’t wanna be around.

    “…and you know that boy-a knew betta.” Crackle, crackle.

    translated: “I’m gonna snatch that man bald-headed if he shows his smirk ’round he-a.”

  2. Wow. How interesting. Saying the word twice, huh? I’m going to remember that!!! I’ll see if my husband catches on to what Im’ doing. 🙂

  3. I do use them- very much so! LOL!

    I love this!! Can’t wait for tomorrow!!!

  4. This was great great! Loved it as always!

  5. CAN’T wait to wake up and see!!!

  6. Pingback: Cajun French: Do-Do | Unearthly Musings

Leave a Reply

