What’s Playing Wednesday

Before I get to today’s song, I’d like to announce the winners of the final giveaway for Succubus-in-Waiting are LaTessa and Tonya Kappes! Ladies, drop me a line at danica(dot)avet(at)gmail(dot)com with your addresses and I’ll mail your prizes out this weekend.

Thank y’all again for the wonderful support for the last two blog tours. As I mentioned yesterday I’m launching a new blog tour for book 3. The first stop is over at Marsha A. Moore’s blog. After that I’ll be at Haunted Dreams, Dark Destinies with another guest blog. I’ll post dates on Friday.

Now to today’s song. I actually woke up and worked out this morning. I haven’t done that in a while, so I’m kind of…well, alert today. Wow, I know! So I figured my MP3 player would be right there with me and decide to play something upbeat and fast. But nooo, it has its own mind and is determined to use it.

The band I’m playing today is a local group. I don’t know if any of you have actually heard of them (probably not) but that’s okay. I do What’s Playing Wednesdays to expose you to the kind of  music I listen to (poor people). The band is called Acid Bath. They were a pretty big thing around this area when I was in high school. Oh, yes, everyone in my age group, who were into the darker, heavier music, dug them. I’m showing my age, aren’t I?

Listening to them now though, I wonder if they were a little before their time. Sure, there were bands out there with the whole goth, dark music like Type O Negative, but these guys were from…Houma, Galliano, Morgan City, and Thibodaux. *blinks* It’s kind of crazy. They were together until 1997 before they went their separate ways. The singer, Dax Riggs started a couple of other bands like Agents of Oblivion and Deadboy & the Elephantmen. The others formed another band called Goatwhore. I tried to make it to that show, but there were so many people at the club, I decided to bail.

Anyway! The song is called Screams of the Butterfly. I think it was their most popular hit and I’ll admit…it’s dark and bleak, but what a powerful song! I hope you like it…or if not like it that, you don’t think I’m strange 😉

And before I get to that, I’m over at my group blog, Four Foxes One Hound. This week we’re talking about heroes. I hope you stop by and give us your input!

Now the song…no video, but pretty pictures!

13 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

13 responses to “What’s Playing Wednesday

  1. Yay!! I’m a winna!!!

    Did you hook up with Shawn T this morning?? I’m not gonna lie, I’ve been avoiding him… Not accepting any of his calls….

    He’s gonna be mad at me.

    • Yay! Um…Shaun T and I have gone our separate ways. Well, okay, I’ve been cheating on him with Turbo Jams…which I haven’t been completely faithful to either because I’ve been more interested in sleeping, LOL

      • Hahahaha! Yeah, I’ve been having a menage with the belly dancing twins 🙂

        But I’m going to call him up tonight (pray for me, it’s gonna be brutal)

  2. I like the guitar in the beginning! That is catchy. 🙂 The title of the song is catch as well! I mean, screaming butterflies? Come on…. 🙂

    Great pick! Have a fantastic day!

  3. Can’t listen yet as I have a client in the conference room and it abuts my office. She may wonder what the freak is up! LOL!

  4. Did I pick a good day to check in or what??? LOVE this!! It’s dark, it’s cool, it’s SEXY!! Put’s me in mind of smoky roadhouse bars with good barbecue and lots of shadows. (I’m sitting in a back corner with sunglasses on.) Awesome!

  5. Like your pick today. 🙂 My son plays guitar so that intro is awesome. Congrats to the winners!!!

  6. Whoop whoop!!! Thanks, Danica!! I didn’t even read the rest of the post b/c I was so excited:)Thanks!

Leave a Reply

