How Awesome

I had a marvelous weekend. Seriously. I haven’t had a weekend with so much fun packed into it in such a long time, I’m not even sure where to start! Hm, I suppose I should start with Friday and work my way forward. It’s logical.

I went to dinner with my mom and sister Friday evening. It wasn’t anything special other than a chance for us to have some mother-daughters time. To my surprise, my sister arrived with four—count them, four—print copies of my first novel, Ruby: Uncut and on the Loose. She also brought a sharpie because it was time for me to sign them. I can’t even begin to explain how…well, awesome it felt to look at this book and see all the scenes I’d labored over. It’s a bit different when the book is in e-format. It’s no less real, but it sort of feels more significant to hold the book in my hands. *sniff* I was so touched. Hell, my sister told me she was planning to order more! I think she’s going to give them out as Christmas gifts! LOL

Saturday night was quiz night in Cut Off, Louisiana. For those who follow my blog regularly, you’ll understand what I mean when I say Cut Off is down da bayou. It’s also the birth place of the Cajun Cannon, Bobby Hebert. Quiz night is a fund-raising event held once a year. Teams of six gather in the recreation center and answer 110 questions for the chance to be crowned the winners. We weren’t the winners. *wince* With my brother answering questions like, “Florence Ballard was one of the founding singers of what band?” with “Florence and the Nightingales!” we were doomed. Nah, not really. We did well, but not enough to land in the spotlight, but it was so much fun, we didn’t care. It’s a great night of using your brains, chatting with friends, watching people dance during the music category, and also aiding special citizens. It was a blast.

Then we come to Sunday. We decided that we wanted to go roder. We left at around 11 a.m. and headed west. Forever. We ended up west of Lake Charles, Louisiana which is just on this side of the Louisiana state line. With my mom, aunt, and cousin packed into my car, we laughed and laughed, took pictures of alligators (of which we must’ve seen at least 40 or more), and generally had fun goofing off. We’ve made plans to attempt something similar at least once a month. That’s the whole point of going roder you know, just having fun doing nothing but sightseeing. If we had to make a cover story in case we were stopped, that’s just part of the fun.

By the way, I told them if someone asked what we were doing, we’d tell them we were with Louisiana Back Roads magazine and that we were dedicating our first issue to Delcambre. *snickers*

So that was my weekend. I managed to pack in a lot of recreation and also get some ideas for more stories. Can anything be better?

Oh, I know what could!! One of my fellow Foxes on Four Foxes One Hound, Lynn Rush has just signed to have her novel, Wasteland, published with Crescent Moon Press! I’m so happy for Lynn, I can hardly contain myself. She’s such a wonderful person, so I hope you’re all planning to go out and buy her book when it’s released!

Happy Monday, y’all!

4 Comments

Filed under humor

4 responses to “How Awesome

  1. KAK

    I can just see it…
    The three of you pulled over in the middle of bridge. Your sister tries very hard not to freak out. Your mother bats her lashes and explains to the kind officer that you were simply on roder seeking inspiration for your magazine and *poof* there he is, so lovely, giving her a frisson .

    You’re in the driver’s seat singing “The Streak” in Cajun and sniggering into the steering wheel.

  2. LOVE that picture! Oh man. 🙂
    Thanks for the shout out, my friend! You’re too sweet.

    Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

