Cajun French: Rôder

Before I get to the lesson for the day, I’d like to announce the winners of the last two interview giveaways! From Rebecca Zanetti’s blog, Yadira and Brans! From Falyn Donaldson’s blog, Jillian Chantal! Y’all e-mail me your addresses so I can ship your masks to you. (Y’all, this is the 2nd time Jillian’s won. She almost has a whole set of Veil based masks!)

Now it’s time for another lesson in Cajun French, or Cajun English. I know I throw some weird stuff up here sometimes, but I’m so not a teacher. I have no lesson plans with ideas of what the next lesson will be about. I simply go by whatever strikes my fancy on the day of the post. I think that makes for a fun experience…but it might annoy some people. Sorry!

Last week I told y’all about Cajun Reeboks. This week, I’m going back to Cajun French with a word that’s near and dear to my heart. Roder, pronounced row-day, means to roam, or run the roads. Lots of people do this and my family was no exception.

When I was younger, Mom used to pile me and my brother in the car and take us all over Houma and Thibodaux. She’d show us places she lived, or where relatives lived, where she went to school, and where she threw Coke bottles at her brother’s head. Yeah, those are stories that stuck with me. But Mom wasn’t the only one who used to take me roder. My pa-paw practically raised me in the car. We’d go visit his brothers and sisters, or we’d just ride around.

That’s what roder means. Just ride around with no particular place to go. You might hear a conversation like this:

So, what’d you do today?
Oh, we went roder.

With gas prices increasing, we might not roder as much as we used to. Although, I do believe I’m ready to go roder. I might even go this weekend if the weather’s pretty.

So how about y’all? Do you like to roder?

9 Comments

Filed under humor

9 responses to “Cajun French: Rôder

  1. I like to only if I’m in the passenger seat. I despise driving. I’d rather sit and watch the scenery and play DJ with iTunes. That makes any drive fun. 🙂

  2. I like it. I think I’ll start using this one. Seems like a good practice to enjoy life more.

    • There’s so many things we forget to enjoy while we’re living our lives. That’s one gift my mom gave us; the ability to learn more about our area so we could appreciate it more 🙂

  3. KAK

    Ooo, yes. I totally roder. It’s one of the reasons I haven’t been dying to get a GPS for my leetle Beetle. Sometimes, I get in the car and try to get lost. I’ve seen some fascinating things that way.

    • Thank you, KAK! I hate GPS thingies! If I don’t know where I’m going, I look at a map and take very simple directions because I like to explore. It isn’t like you can get completely lost. You can always go back the way you came, LOL

  4. I only like to roday when the day is nice enough to take the top down! Otherwise, I’m with Lynn, I hate to drive.

  5. Pingback: Road Trip: Part One | Unearthly Musings

  6. Pingback: Road Trip: Part One | Unearthly Musings

Leave a Reply

