What’s Playing Wednesday

Mardi Gras season is upon us and for the next three weeks, I’m going to be featuring music that puts me in the Mardi Gras mood.

This might sound weird, but when I hear the songs I’ll be playing, I remember waiting with the floats at the start of the parade. I was in band throughout junior high and high school and one of the requirements was marching in parades. On Sunday morning (or Friday night) we’d gather at the start of the parade. Because we were kids, we’d nag the float riders for goodies before they left the grounds.

But what I remember most is listening to the floats’ sound systems as the riders drank and sorted their throws. There are three songs that I find put me right back in that parking lot.

The first song is Don’t You Just Know It by Huey “Piano” Smith and the Clowns. I love this song and I’ll listen to it no matter what time of the year, but it just reminds me of the 8 mile march I was about to start with a tuba hanging over my shoulder. Ah, those were the days!

I hope you enjoy it!

Oh and I got the cover art for Succubus-in-Waiting Veil book 2! Check it out!

12 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

12 responses to “What’s Playing Wednesday

  1. Wow, what a hot cover and thanks for sharing a bit home-town music with us. Are those scratches on her. Yumm!

  2. Love the music and the cover rocks!! It looks awesome, girl!

  3. LOVE this song but hadn’t heard it in an age. Oh and great cover – bet you’re sooo excited 😀 x

  4. Great cover!!! Love me some Mardi Gras parades. Was in them as a rifle twirler in high school and have been in them as a Krewe member as an adult!! FUN times!

  5. Mardi Gras in the Lou may not be Mardi Gras in New Orleans, but we throw a rocking good time here. I’m in the parade for the second year in a row. Makes me feel like a rock star!
    Awesome cover by the way. 🙂

  6. Ohhh. That’s an oldie song, huh? Love it. Love the sound of the crackling record, you know? 🙂

    Congrats on the next book coming out. Fantastic!!

Leave a Reply

