Blending In

I’ve mentioned before that I’m nowhere near being a domestic goddess. I hate to clean house, I don’t cook very often, and kids make me nervous. However, I actually bought an appliance this weekend. No, not that kind of appliance *eye roll*. I bought a blender.

First let me explain. For the last two months I’ve been drinking a health shake as a meal at night. This is all part of my diet plan and I’m doing a fine job following it. Yay me. I’ve already told you how I almost stabbed myself with a knife when chopping a banana, so now I break the fruit up with my hands. No stabbing here! However, a couple of weeks ago, I made my shake and because I was busy talking to my cousin on the phone, I forgot an integral part of the shake. The shake mix. I was basically drinking milk, banana, and ice. It was…very bland.

The blender I’ve been using is part of a blender/mixer/food-processor set that my mom bought before my brother was born. Yes, it’s old so I had to make the decision to buy a new blender. The old one was putting its little heart into making my shakes but I could feel it wanting to die. It was time to put it out of its misery. The new blender is pretty! So cool and fast!

But my lack of domestic skills didn’t prepare me for using it for the first time. See, I was ready to use the blender and thought I’d read the bloody manual thoroughly. Yes, I do read manuals most of the time, not that it does me any good. I put all of the ingredients in and was ready to stare in awe at my shake being made. What I didn’t do was tighten the base of the blender onto the cup…

No, I didn’t have milk and all that all over my face. I’m too cool for that! Instead, I had a seeping, sopping mess oozing out the bottom of the blender. It leaked all over the cabinet and I stood there in confusion. Oh, I stopped blending, but that didn’t stop the oozing until I figured out the flippin’ problem! Once I did though, I cleaned my mess and with steely determination, I put that blender back on and sighed as it did what it was supposed to do.

Sadly enough, I’m infatuated with my blender. It’s mine. My first appliance purchase. Sure, I’ve bought furniture and computers, but this is something you cook with! And I bought it! I’m still stunned, yet a part of me can’t wait to get home so I can use it again.

I believe I’m starting to feel the nesting instinct. Finally. I’ve even started looking at houses because I’m ready for my own house, something I’ve picked out and can not clean without feeling guilty. *cough*

Okay, so I have to ask: What was your first household appliance purchase? Did you fall in love with it? It’s okay if you didn’t, I’m pretty resigned to my weirdness.

12 Comments

Filed under humor

12 responses to “Blending In

  1. jeff7salter

    I’m not much on home appliances either, unless they’re the kind which live in the garage.
    But for Christmas one year, my wife bought me a flip-over waffle maker.
    Yeah. Very interesting gift selection.
    After the dust settled, I asked her what nudged her in that direction.
    She said, “because you make such a big deal about staying a motels with those waffle machines. I figured you’d want one.”
    Well, there was undeniable logic hidden there, but the component she over-looked was: I don’t want to OPERATE the doo-hicky … I just want to EAT the waffles.
    And I don’t want to clean it either.

    • LOL! It was a sweet thought! My sister, brother, and I bought my mom a popcorn maker for Christmas one year. She won’t use it because it doesn’t taste the same as the popcorn she makes in her trusty little pot. *roll*

  2. My favorite is my KitchenAide mixer. It is a dream. πŸ™‚

  3. Ah, a subject near and dear to my heart! I can’t remember for sure my first purchase, but I do remember bringing a rice-cooker with me to my freshman year in college. I don’t remember if I bought that one with my babysitting money or allowance or what, but I don’t think my mom has ever owned a rice cooker, so I think I must have bought it myself.

    Since then, I’ve done it all! Toaster-ovens and rice cookers were my first love. I’m not a huge blender fan, preferring the versatility of the Cuisinart. (My mom and g-ma always had a Cuisinart. Ahhhh…the attachments!)

    In the past year and a half, DH and I have twice had to purchase the “big guys”- an oven (of which I just bought the cheapest one available because we were broke at the time) and a dishwasher.

    Oh, what a dishwasher!!! Dh and I went to town on the dishwasher. It’s all Swedish-made, stainless steel goodness. For weeks, I couldn’t stop touching it.

    But now I’m back to basics. I saw a combination rice cooker/bread maker at dh’s friends’ house in Hawaii, and mamma wants a new pair of shoes. πŸ™‚

    • LOL, I don’t know if I could live without a rice cooker. My aunt is from South Korea, so she’s made sure everyone in the family has a good quality rice cooker. Dishwasher? What’s that? *grin* I’d adore a dishwasher, but we have no place to put one. One day though…oooooh!

  4. Back in the dark ages, my first kitchen doohicky purchase was one of those bamboo steamers. Not very sexy, I know- but they were hot when they came out!

  5. Washer and dryer!! I can go out to eat, but I refuse to go to a laundry mat unless I’m doing research for a book!

Leave a Reply

