Cajun French: Grattons

Before I get into the Cajun French lesson of the day, I have two, no three announcements to make. First of all, the winner of an ARC of Fated by Rebecca Zanetti is…Lara Dunning! I have to say, I loved that interview and all of the fun comments. I hope to have Rebecca back some day…perhaps with her next release? We’ll have to see.

The second announcement is that today is your last chance to win a hand painted Mardi Gras mask made especially for my release of Ruby: Uncut and on the Loose. I’ll be over at Avril Ashton’s blog for an interview. I’ve had so much fun on this blog tour and I hope you have as well. It’s been an absolute pleasure! Now go comment for a chance to win! 😉

Last, but not least, I have a release date for the 2nd Veil book, Succubus-in-Waiting. It’ll be released March 8, 2011, which is Mardi Gras! Woo-hoo, party time! Probably not, I don’t party like I used to, but that’s okay! I’ll spend it online goofing off instead 😉 There’ll be another blog tour with  yet another giveaway for that book, so be on the lookout for those dates. If you’d like to have me over, just drop me an e-mail!

Okay, now to the really fun part of today’s post. Cajun French. I think my next book’s release date has put my mind in Mardi Gras mode. The first thing that popped into my mind was how much I adored my one Mardi Gras experience in Gheens, Louisiana. It’s a one-road community and we used to laugh that the world revolved around Gheens, but they sure know how to put on a Mardi Gras celebration.

Now, there’s a lot of preparation that goes into this event. Hogs are butchered which sets up the best tasting heart-attack-on-a-table  you’ll ever have. Most of you know fried pig fat as cracklins. We call them grattons (pronounced gra-tons, roll the gra and it rhymes with batons). If you’ve never had grattons straight from the pan, you haven’t lived.

When I say heart-attack-on-a-table, I mean it because the batches of grattons are tossed onto a protectively lined table and a box of salt poured over them. You want them when they’re hot. *stomach growls* I haven’t had fresh grattons in years. The closest I’ve come is when a vendor brings in a batch from two hours away. They’re slightly warm and still kind of soft, but nowhere near as good straight out of the pan.

It doesn't look appetizing, but mais! They're like crack!

 Those are grattons. It’s a much cooler word than cracklings. When I hear cracklings, I always think about Clash of the Titans when Calibos says, Release the Kraken! And as much as I’m all for eating squids and octopi…it just doesn’t compare to grattons.

So, the next time you’re at the store and you see a bag of cracklings, you can now call them grattons and have everyone stare at you. Now, if you don’t mind, I’m going to drool over the thought of a table of grattons with no one to share it with 😉

9 Comments

Filed under humor

9 responses to “Cajun French: Grattons

  1. Wow you’re going to be busy with all these releases. You go, girl! Congrats on the release date. Woot!! How exciting.

    Enjoy the journey!

  2. Congrats on the release date. I have to say UGH on cracklins’ – HATE them- ick- My mother in law used to make cracklin’ bread which was cornbread with the odious stuff in it- Bleh. But I love the word and I love the rolled consonents!!

  3. Congrats on the new release, Danica. That’s awesome. You are going to be one busy gal. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Cajun French: Bon Mange | Unearthly Musings

  5. Rae Lynn

    I live in Virginia, and friends just sent us some grattons. Fabulous, evil, OMG. !

Leave a Reply

