Cajun French: Couillon

I simply had to use this word today. You see, I’ve been struggling with my Olympus book 2 since November. I began it for NaNo and wrote 54k words just to get through the month. But when I tried to continue with it, I had trouble. Things just were not clicking. If you remember, I wrote book 1 in a single month because I couldn’t stop writing. It’s like the book wrote itself. That is so not happening with book 2.

You see, I was being hardheaded. I wanted to keep one particular aspect of the story the same so I wrote and rewrote the beginning at least a dozen times, but never got any further than 200 pages. It just didn’t feel right. So yesterday I decided the only thing for me to do was to drop my original plot idea and embrace another. I ended up writing 4k yesterday.

Now what does this have to do with this crazy word I’ve mentioned in the title of this post? Well, couillon (pronounced: koo-yon), means imbecile, fool, crazy person, or funny person. It can also be used as an adjective that would mean foolish, crazy, or funny.

When I decided to rewrite this entire book, I thought to myself, “I’m a couillon! Who rewrites an entire story when they have so much already written?!” Then later when I thought about my original idea, I thought, “Mais, that was a couillon idea! This one is so much better!”

You see why I had to share this with you today? Couillon is one of those words that I use in reference to myself. I tend to lean more towards the “crazy” part of the definition though. *cough*

Do you think you’ll be able to use this word? Several of you seem to have taken these Cajun French words as your own, which I love. Can you see yourself using couillon in the near future?

This is a shirt actually on sale at Cafepress! I must get one! LOL

By the way! Yup, you got it. I’m being interviewed again. And having a giveaway. Again. (I love Forrest Gump.) This time I’m over at Rachel Firasek’sย blog. I hope you’ll stop by and join the fun!

21 Comments

Filed under humor

21 responses to “Cajun French: Couillon

  1. Love this! I think it describes me perfectly! Keep ’em coming woman!

    • I’m gonna go out on a limb here and say it probably describes about 90% of writers LOL because you have to be a little crazy to listen to the “voices” in your head and write about them!!

  2. Been to Rachel’s blog, now I’m here – hope that doesn’t make me a stalker lol

    I love that word, I’m gonna try to use it – drive my daughter crazy! Reminds me of when I used to watch Justin Wilson on tv – he had the most wonderful Cajun accent, I can still hear him say “I guar-on-tee!” Great cook too!

    I totally understand what you mean, though, cause my muse has a nasty way of just stopping cold when I’ve moved in the wrong direction or done something wrong or stupid. But once I figure it out, take out whatever was wrong, no matter how much it is – then the words flow again.

    I’m a gonna go tell my daughter she’s couillon, practice saying it aloud. Usually I tell her she’s verrรผckt – German for crazy lol

    You also intrigued me so much with your vamp I had to go buy him, which is quite an accomplishment, cause I seldom buy m/f, usually just m/m. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • LOL, I understand completely about your reading preferences ๐Ÿ™‚ My CP is working on a m/m right now and when it comes out, you should check it out. Her books are muy hot! Her name’s Daisy Harris ๐Ÿ™‚

      You’re not a stalker. Yet ๐Ÿ˜‰ Just kidding! I hope you drive her couillon using the word couillon! LOL

  3. KAK

    Mmmm, jesss. I’m pretty sure I could use that one word and nail every meaning of it…particularly when I’m in the grocery store humming The Streak and blurt out “Boogity, boogity. “

    Wha? Don’t act like it didn’t happen yesterday.

  4. LOVE this word. AND the shirt. I want one, too!

    Yeah, sometimes I don’t listen to my characters who are telling me to go a different direction with them. Once I step back, take me out of the equation, things usually fall into place.

    Glad you made progress yesterday. 4k is a great wordcount for a day!

    Write on, my friend.

    • Thanks, Lynn. I plan to get back on the story very soon!

      I almost feel like I’m corrupting the rest of the country with my Cajun French lessons! Just imagine what Nationals would look like if everyone wore one of these shirts! LOL

  5. I think this word and writer should be interchangeable. We might need to petition RWA to change its name to RCA. Wait, that acronym’s already taken.

    I know how you feel about throwing your work out and starting fresh. I recently did that with my M/M/F and boy-howdy are the words flowing now! It still irks me that I wasted all that time on the original.

  6. I must have missed the last couple of blogs (been busy) and was pleasantly surprised to see the black background/white print was GONE! I swear, that combination will ruin my eyes. So thanks, Danica, for the lovely change in your blog!

    And I agree – I believe all writers are a little couillon.

  7. Aha! Too much fun! I remember the first time I met a ‘cajun’. I was waiting tables at School of the Ozarks in Pt. Lookout Mo. (my first college) and this family was seated in my section. The lady was trying to tell me about all of the cross-dressers in the French Quarter and how I needed to come down and let them show me around because they would ‘take care of me’. ..but it was something about the gleam in the man’s eye when he talked about ‘taking care of me’ that scared my innocent little 18-year old self to death. Today? I’d probably take him up on his offer! (Yes, you have a new stalker…can’t wait to hear more about your crazy family..maybe we can trade stories sometime!) ๐Ÿ™‚

    • LOL, the Quarter is like nothing else, I can tell you that. We had some friends visiting from England and took them around. Had a nice dinner at a steakhouse on Bourbon and the host was a little person…who made out with a gothic er, I guess she was a working girl. It’s an interesting place.

      I’m glad you’re stalking me! Is that weird to admit? LOL

  8. My Cajun anti-hero (not quite sure yet if he’s a villain) will be using this one for sure!! Love it! I think what I like the most about you is your couillon-ness!

  9. Biggles

    I’ve always thought of “couillon” expressing anything from the pleasantly peeved: “oh, you silly goose,” to the massively miffed: “you fucking idiot!”

  10. RoyalPayne

    Just wondering….over these few years since the last post, did anyone ever tell you pouillon is French for turd?

Leave a Reply

