The Bookcase and Winner

Happy Monday everyone! I hope y’all had a great weekend. I wish I could say I did, but I worked my butt off this weekend.

Before I get into that, I’d like to announce the winner from Saturday’s guest blog over at Falyn Donaldson’s blog. After throwing numbers in random.org’s lovely little er, number picker thingy, the winner of a spiffy mask is none other than Jillian Chantal! I swear it was completely random! Jillian, just drop me an e-mail with your address and I’ll ship your mask to you.

Now for the weekend. I mentioned a few weeks ago that I painted my room. I might’ve forgotten to mention that I had to move into the room next. I know I’ve told y’all about the insane number of books I own, right? Well, I came to the realization that I have way too many books. I finally moved into my new bedroom…which meant my books had to come with me. Before I did any of that though, I had to put together a brand new bookcase…you know, for all of those books!

So I woke up at 5 on Saturday morning (my body just can’t sleep later than that anymore). I had my coffee and finished reading Jaci Burton’s The Perfect Play, which was a perfect book to read for Superbowl weekend. Then I got started on the bookcase. By myself. Well, not completely alone. Mia and Cookie supervised. Have you ever put one of these things together alone? Yeah, this is my 4th bookcase, so I’ve had plenty of practice. Except why don’t they put the shelves in order of how they go into the case? Shelf A was at the top, Shelf B was at the bottom and Shelf G was in the middle. I didn’t realize there was a problem with it until I realized yeah, there is a difference between Shelf B and G. *mumble* Had to take it apart and do it all over again.

Once I got the bare frame up, I took a little break because my back was killing me. I stepped outside for a smoke and when I came back inside, this is what I saw:

I have a lot of pictures on Facebook with Cookie sitting in boxes. She loves boxes, so I shouldn’t have been surprised to find her sitting in the bookcase frame. She was inspecting my work, no doubt. And she wasn’t happy with me when I put the back on the bookcase. Silly kitty.

So after the bookcase was put together, it went into the bedroom, then I moved the rest of the furniture in. That only took about two hours…but then came the real work: putting my books in the bookcases in an orderly manner. Up until now, I’ve just thrown books on the shelves, shoving them into tight spots because they wouldn’t all fit. To get everything in the bookcases and make it look nice, I had to discard some books. I think I must’ve put about a hundred on the side to give away, but that still left me with about six hundred books. I’m not complaining though! I wouldn’t get rid of those if someone paid me to.

So now my room is all finished and I’m happy. I can now find my books with relative ease since I separated them by genre, then author. My next project will be to put them order of publication, but that’s not a main concern right now.

Have you noticed I haven’t mentioned anything about the rest of the room? It’s all about the books, but I’m a nerd, so that’s okay!

Oh, before I let you go about your day, I just wanted to remind you that I’m being interviewed over at Nikki Brandyberry’s blog. I’ll be giving away two masks and a digital copy of my book, Ruby: Uncut and on the Loose. I hope you stop by!

9 Comments

Filed under Giveaways

9 responses to “The Bookcase and Winner

  1. I saw on twitter how early you got up on Saturday and all you did before I was up and man, you wear me out!! LOL! Hope the kittimal is ok with the books being back on the shelf as we know those fur face folks run the household!

    AND I’m sooo excited to win a mask. I love how they all looked on your post about them! WHOO HOO!!

    • She kept jumping on the shelves to explore them and getting upset with me when I’d place books on them. Le sigh. She’s so incorrigible! LOL

      Yay, I’m glad! I’ll probably mail it out on Saturday, so you should get it next week 🙂

  2. Congrats, Jillian. 🙂 Good job on the book shelf, Danica. I’ve put a few together and some go easy, others are a pain. LOL

  3. Wow. Busy weekend, indeed. I don’t even try putting things together anymore. I just screw them up. LOL!

  4. Pingback: Brought to you by the word… | Falyn Donaldson's World

  5. We don’t get a pic of the final result???

Leave a Reply

