Cajun French: The Streak

Today is the day after Release Day. I’m afraid I dreamed all night about book sales and Cajun French. All night long. The two have nothing in common, of course, but that’s what my dreams were about.

Before I get to the Cajun French lesson for today, I’m happy to announce the winner of yesterday’s guest blog prize! KAK!! You lucky girl you, you’re soon to be the proud owner of a mask. I’m afraid I didn’t take a picture of it, but trust me, it’s purty! If you send me an e-mail at danica.avet@gmail.com, I can get all your pertinent information to send it to you!

Now on to the Cajun French lesson. I know, The Streak, right? Well funnily enough, earlier this week I was flipping through the radio stations when I heard this song playing. Except it wasn’t the one I’d heard. I grew up loving The Streak by Ray Stevens, so you know I had to pause to listen to this song. It was a Cajun French version! I knew instantly that this had to be my Cajun French lesson this week.

I’m going to play both versions for you just to help you remember the words so you can follow along better with the Cajun French version.

Ready?

Ray Stevens’ version:

Poor Ethel. I used to laugh and laugh at this song no matter how many times I listened to it. I still giggle at it, so I suppose my childish humor hasn’t gone away completely.

Now for the Cajun French version by Monsieur Belton Richard (That would be pronounced Ree-shard with a stress on the Ree):

Okay, the video isn’t the best, but the song. Mais! I can’t help but laugh. I love the original, but you have to admit, it sounds completely different in Cajun French. I’m so glad Belton Richard changed Ethel’s name to Clothidle. Clothidle! *laughs and laughs*

Um, sorry. Er, so what do you think? That’s Cajun French. It sounds very fast, doesn’t it? From what I’ve heard from people who live around here but weren’t born here, we speak very fast. I don’t think we do, but I wouldn’t notice, would I? Hm. I’ll have to take notice from now on.

Oh! Before I let you go about your day wondering if you’re ever going to get this particular earworm out of your head, I’d just like to remind you that I’ll be over at Falyn Donaldson’s blog on Saturday with an excerpt from Ruby: Uncut and on the Loose. Also, don’t forget that my group blog has opened this week with our views on romance at Four Foxes, One Hound. We’ll also have guest fox, Monica Kaye, by on Saturday!

Clothidle! *laughs*

18 Comments

Filed under humor

18 responses to “Cajun French: The Streak

  1. First off, I LOVE Ray Stevens. He’s one of the few people that has ever made my dad laugh (Dad’s a sourpuss). I couldn’t understand a single word of the Cajun version (except buggity but that’s not really a word) but I still laughed at it.
    Second, Danica, you do know that you’ll be on my blog Saturday and not today, right? I mean, I love the free publicity for Thursday’s Tunes, but YOU’RE the one who came up with Sneak Peak Saturday. 🙂

  2. LOVE IT!! I have satellite radio on my car and whenever they play this, I have to stay in the car til it’s over!

  3. OMW – I’ve never heard of this. Too, funny!!!

  4. Now I thought I had this one down! I was thinking about a lack of proper bathroom etiquette. Now that’s a French word, right?

  5. KAK

    Oh, Danica, I thought of you while watching The Closer rerun yesterday, and one of the suspects said “ah, I got a ~frisson~ when I entered the restaurant.”

    And, yes, I did scream out, “Ooooo! Ooooo! I know what that means!”

    As for today’s lesson, I’m with Fayln. I only grasped “buggity, buggity” from the Cajun version, but it’s enough to suffice for an ear worm.

    ~and Yay Me for the winning the mask!~

  6. Marsha Dupont

    Well, I don’t know much Cajun French, but there were definitely understood. haha. Like “tu-nu”. My grandmothers used that word a lot when we were little kids and would run through the house completely naked after a batch. In fact, I think my dad tells my niece that she is tu-nu when she gets out of the tub. Good one today, Danica!

  7. I grew up on Ray Stevens!! I especially love Mississippi Squirrel Revival!!! Awesome memories. Thanks

  8. I’ll take a fritter in a bag, and leave it on the nightstand. May wee!

  9. Pingback: Cajun French: T’es Nu | Unearthly Musings

Leave a Reply

