Dreaded Monday

I mentioned on Twitter last night that I was already ready for Monday to be over. Does anyone else feel this way when Sunday evening rolls around? It’s horrible, isn’t it? We spend all week looking forward to the weekend and when it gets here, we dread seeing it end. Ah well, such is the life of the working person.

I actually had a great weekend. I didn’t go fishing like my brother-in-law wanted because I had too much to do, but that’s okay. We’ll go when his next hitch ends. Instead, I spent the weekend preparing for this coming weekend.

I’ve mentioned before that I’m not a crafty person and I don’t mind. Most of the time. Sure, I tried drawing when I was younger, but when you can’t draw a straight line with a ruler, you kind of give up. I have ideas, but I can’t execute them with pencil or brush. But I found myself enjoying the painting I did this weekend. I have masks I’m working on for promotional items during my blog tours. I didn’t come up with the idea, my aunt did, but I found that getting messy with paint was satisfying in a way. I liked blending colors and seeing what I came up with. I suppose the same thing can be said for writing.

I’m a words person, hello? I’m a writer! I think what I love the most is how one word change in a sentence can give it a completely different meaning. How the order of the words can convey anything from surprise, to anger, to sarcasm. It’s endlessly amusing to me. I suppose that’s why writing is my craft. Where my mom can alter her paintings to give a picture a sense of lightness and awe, I use words to convey atmosphere and tension. It’s all the same, isn’t it?

Words…they are my life’s blood. So is it any wonder I’ve invited six of the most artsy people I know to work with me this coming weekend? My mom, who is a wonderful artist, my sister-in-law, who’s a wonderful baker and used to design tattoos, my aunt and her daughter, who are ideas people and flexible in their art pursuits, my nephews’ girlfriends, who like to make things whether it’s picture collages or cupcake bouquets, and my sister, who vows not to touch a single paint brush. She’s a bit like me in the aspect of crafts, but she has a good eye and will be useful to keep us from getting too caught up in our designs.

I feel enormously lucky to have them on my side. They’re supportive and helpful and they’re doing this all without pay! Okay, so I’m buying pizza for them, but still! I see a lot of fun in store for us this coming weekend.

Ah, Monday…will you please fly by so I can get to the weekend already?

14 Comments

Filed under Family

14 responses to “Dreaded Monday

  1. When I worked a 9-5, I felt the same way. Now, I’m the opposite. I work from home and can’t wait til Monday when children go to school and adults go to work. Ahhh, the peace and quiet of Monday. I just have to find something to get husband (a disabled veteran) out of my hair and the day would be perfect.

  2. I hear you. I dread Monday mornings. Although, some times I look forward to them. When it’s a rough weekend with the kids, I look forward to putting their sweet little angelic faces on the bus. 🙂

  3. I kind of used to look forward to Mondays when I’d have some time to myself at home, with the kids in school. Now my husband is that big kid, and actually, I get more done Mondays, so I guess nothing’s changed!

  4. Glad you had fun. AND masks is a cool idea. I’m here chained to my Monday morning desk. Alas

  5. Monday’s used to drive me nuts…but now….not so much cuz I work mostly on the weekends so Monday I only have to only work a few hours….But normally, I’d be all about the “UGH Mondays….” thing for sure.

    Hang in there. . . 🙂

  6. I’m quite crafty and I’ve made masks before – can I come?

Leave a Reply

