What’s Playing Wednesday

It’s time for another What’s Playing Wednesday when I let Danica’s Magical Music Player decide the day’s blog post.

First let me just say that yesterday’s ho-hum, I’m feeling let down feeling has moved on. Thank goodness! Really, yesterday felt like Monday for me for some reason and I couldn’t seem to get my brain in gear. Was it the weather? Probably not. It was a warm, sunny day yesterday. Today is the day I should have been feeling like that considering it’s windy, gloomy, and we’re going to get rain, but I’m quite excited today.

You see, I had an epiphany in the shower this morning. Why do my ideas always strike when I don’t have a pen and paper in hand? Maybe I should invest in some washable markers…you know, the kind you buy your kids when you don’t want them to ruin your walls. Then I could jot down ideas as I’m shampooing my hair! Man! Why didn’t I think of this before??

Anyway, so I have an idea for book 2 of the Olympus, Inc. series and I can’t wait to get started. Book beginnings are so vital and I stress over making the right impression in those opening paragraphs. I’ve tried several times with this book, but nothing felt right. Then came the epiphany in the shower. I have an idea and I’m going with it. Wish me luck!

Now for What’s Playing Wednesday. Today’s band is one I really enjoyed in my early college years. They were funky and different. Their music is a blending of metal, rap, and reggae. They are, of course, 311. Now I’ll inform you now, the music might seem a little hard, and it is at first, but once the melody picks up, it’s…well, it’s downright groovy. Whenever I hear this particular song, I always think about sipping a cold beer and bonfires. I do adore bonfires. I suppose because it takes me back to my early 20’s when that’s all we did was set things on fire (in a contained manner, of course) and drink and talk about life and college and anything else that came to our minds.

The song is called Beautiful Disaster and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

So what do you think? Too hard? Not groovy at all? Boring? It makes me feel like just doing my tip, tuck, and tighten (as learned from Shaun T on Hip Hop Abs) so I always get a workout when I listen to it.

12 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

12 responses to “What’s Playing Wednesday

  1. I love that song. I’ve never heard of the band, but you are so right. Perfect bonfire song. 🙂 I grew up with bonfires, also. Happy Hump Day!

  2. Oh, good one. Loved the lyrics.

  3. KAK

    Ah, a herbalicious band and a great song. In March, they’ll be performing on a cruise ship sailing from Miami to Turks & Caicos…just in case you were looking for a way to celebrate all your good news. 😉

  4. Hey there- glad you’re feeling perkier!!

  5. Whitley Gray

    Having jumped out of the shower on occasion to jot stuff down, I sympathize. I keep paper/pen in the bathroom now .
    When your mind is on another plane, like showering, driving, doing a mindless task, sometimes the muse sneaks up to the surface…
    Whitley

    • This is constant for me. I can never purposely think of a story. I have to let it sneak up on me while I’m drying my hair, taking a shower, working out…or yes, driving, but I don’t resent it. I’m just so glad my creativity hasn’t dried up! LOL

  6. Hey, that’s a great song. I have those ho-hum days, too. Just gotta go with it sometimes, you know? Just as long as they don’t go on for too long, right? LOL. My day was on Monday….by Tuesday I was “back in the saddle” again. 🙂 Write on, my friend.

    PS: I’m 1/2 through A Hunger Like No Other. Kresley Cole is a great writer!

    • I’m glad you like the song! Ooooh, Kresley Cole is my heroine…I adore her! And you can’t imagine how excited I was when I got to meet her at Nationals. I might’ve squeed, but I know I babbled, LOL. She’s a fantastic writer and her stories are so…vivid. Gah. LOL I might have to re-read the whole series again before Dreams of a Dark Warrior comes out in Feb!!

Leave a Reply

