Squeeful News

The first blog post of the new year has me nearly bouncing in my chair like an unrestrained child. What could make me so happy? What could possibly be exciting enough that I have to share it with you all?

Well, let me tell you. I got THE CALL. Well, actually it was an e-mail at first asking if I would be receptive of THE CALL. Last Monday, I started my day just like any other. I saw an e-mail from an agent I had queried in October. She requested the full on December 21. This is all on top of my three books being accepted by Siren, mind you. I was excited to send my full manuscript off, but wary. I didn’t want a repeat of the disappointment from this summer in what I’m calling the Agent Fiasco.

Last Monday, I saw that e-mail in my inbox and though, “Le sigh, it’s another rejection. My Olympus book is just too gritty and raw for anyone. Oh, well. I suppose I should read it and redirect it to the very full Agent Rejections file.”

I opened the e-mail and blinked. It wasn’t a rejection. My heart sped up. It was a very lovely e-mail from Nalini Akolekar with Spencerhill Associates, Ltd. asking if I would like to speak to her about the possibility of representation. What? Seriously, WHAT?! I jumped up from my desk and sprinted for the bathroom. I was at work when I got the e-mail and since I’m trying to keep my writing on the down low, I didn’t want everyone to see me giggling and crying and acting like a crazy woman.

I locked myself in the bathroom and called my mom. She didn’t answer on the first million rings and I was jumping up and down with tears in my eyes. I had to tell SOMEONE! Then I realized I’d dialed the wrong bloody number! I pressed the right number this time and got her on the phone. My voice was shaking and all she could say was, “Oh, my God! Oh, baby, I’m so happy for you! Are you going to take it? Oh, my God!”

Once I had the initial excitement out of my system, I e-mailed Nalini back and told her, yes (with an inward SQUEE) that I would love to talk to her. She called me Monday night and it was wonderful. We clicked! We had the same ideas for this book, where it we should submit it, where we’d like to see it, and she said things that I felt were exactly what I wanted my agent to say. She wasn’t gushing, she was realistic and down-to-earth about the publishing industry and I needed that. So when we closed the conversation, she asked if I thought we could work together. I might’ve thrown my fist in the air (I can’t really remember), but I very calmly said “Yes”.

Then I danced through the house, laughing and cheering. It was such a marvelous feeling! And I’ll tell you now, it nearly killed me not to tell y’all immediately. Blame the Agent Fiasco for my secretiveness, but I wanted to be sure everything was official. The contract is signed, the first revisions have been sent to her, and it’s all real. I’m represented by Nalini Akolekar of Spencerhill Associates, Ltd.!!

She doesn’t seem to mind my weird, offbeat humor. Nalini is a wonderful lady and I can’t wait to start working with her. Well, I suppose we already started working together since I sent off revisions already, but you know what I mean. She pointed out things I myself thought needed addressing in my manuscript, which tells me that we’re definitely on the same page in regards to my work. Here’s to a fabulous working relationship!

2010 was…well, it was beyond wonderful for me and I hope and pray 2011 is even better. I feel so relieved to finally tell y’all about it. This writing business is hectic and heartbreaking, but there are moments of sheer jubilation that I wouldn’t trade for the world.

Not a bad way to start 2011, is it? *squee!!!*

40 Comments

Filed under Writing

40 responses to “Squeeful News

  1. OMG! Congrats. HUGE well done for staying with it. Can’t wait to read your books :))

    • Woo-hoo! Thanks, Xandra!! I think I’ll probably pass through the floor when I see my books on a bookshelf in a store…so someone had better be there to dig me out!

  2. OH MY FREAKING WORD. This is fantastic. Woot! I’m so happy for you. Doing the squeeful news dance with you out here in Arizona! Yay!!! 2011 is gonna ROCK AND ROLL!!

  3. OMG! OMG! OMG! Yay, you. F*^king amazing!! I am so damned happy for you, lady. You deserve it!!

    SQUEE, GODDAMIT, SQUEE!!

  4. KAK

    YAY!! HUGE congrats! So very, very happy for you!

  5. Excellent!!! Congrats lady 🙂

  6. Whitley Gray

    What a fabulous way to start a new year!
    Congrats.
    Whitley

  7. Soooooo happy for you! That was me in September and now we’re shopping!
    That is so exciting and I wish you great news soon! You are on your way…

  8. Congrats chica! So glad everything has worked out. Have a fab year! 😀

  9. Great news! Congrats! I’m dancing right along with you.

  10. Yay for you! I’m so proud of you. Year’s off to a great start!

  11. Congrats! I’m so happy for you.

  12. OMW!!! MAJOR Congrats!!! I’m doing a happy dance for you. Now, THAT is a way to start off 2011!!! WOOT!! WOOT!!

  13. Congratulations! I have good feelings about this one!

  14. YAY!! As you know. I danced with you last week and I’m still danicng!!

  15. WOOHOO!!!!

    What a great way to start the New Year Danica!!!! 🙂

    I’m so happy for you!!!!

    *HUGS*

    Lisa 🙂

  16. SO so happy for you! Big hugs and major congrats 😀 !

  17. Felicity

    That’s so awesome! Congrats! Nothing quite beats the feeling of having all of your hard work and perseverance pay off. Here’s hoping that 2011 continues on it’s fantastic trend for you!

  18. Squeeus maximus!!!! More jealous than I can say, but truly, nobody deserves it more!!!! Remember us all when you hit the NYT!!!!

  19. WHoo HOOO! Wonderful news, Danica!!! AND great agency! Things always work out for the best;)

  20. Congrats on signing with Nalini, who’s my agent too btw. 🙂 And yes, her practical, calm approach sold me on her too. Best of luck for the rest of the year!

Leave a Reply

