What’s Playing Wednesday

We’re that much closer to the end of 2010 and life suddenly seems full of possibilities. I believe it’s normal to look ahead and wonder what’s going to happen next. Sure, we all make plans and some of us even make resolutions, but we never know what life will bring us to throw all of those plans out the window. I don’t make resolutions, by the way, because I don’t believe in them. If I want to do something, I’ll do it regardless if it’s a new year or not. Besides, if I make and then break a resolution, I don’t have the guilt of knowing I failed myself.

2010 has been a rollercoaster for me. I finished up and polished three full length novels. Two in my Veil series and one in my Olympus, Inc. series with the help up my marvelous critique partners. I got and lost an agent within a month. I attended Nationals and met some wonderful people who I hope to meet up with next year. I also cheered on two of my critique partners (and several friends) as they signed contracts for their books. Then it was my turn. Was it just this month? It seems insane, but yes, it was just earlier this month that the first three books in my Veil series were accepted by Siren. See? A rollercoaster.

In a way, I want the year to get here now. I really want to know what’s going to unfold in the weird tangle of my life, but on the other hand, I’m worried. What if I can’t handle what’s coming next? What if it’s too much for me? What if it changes me in a bad way?

I could spend all day pondering what if’s, but that’s what life is, isn’t it? It’s all about rolling with the punches and hoping you’re not KO’d. My mom, in her infinite wisdom, always told me God will never give you more than you can handle. And I trust in that. So whatever comes, I’ll deal with it. I just have to be patient and remain determined in my goals. Goals are important. They drag me out of bed each day. They keep me writing and learning as much as I can about writing. I just have to remember to be persistent and yes, patient. Again with the patience! Writing and hell, even life, are not about instant gratification. At least, not always.

So in keeping with that theme of patience and persistence, I’ve tuned up my Magical Music Player and hit upon a song that is about patience and fight for my goals. The band is called Fugazi. I’ll admit I don’t know an awful lot about them. I like their music though. It’s kind of…soothing? Or should I say relaxing? It’s hard to explain. The particular song my Music Player chose today is called Waiting Room. Hence the subject of patience and persistence.

Without further ado…here’s Fugazi!

What do you think? Is it relaxing? Or uplifting? Or just weird? And are you looking forward to 2011? What’s your major goal for the new year?

8 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

8 responses to “What’s Playing Wednesday

  1. Waiting is one of the hardest things for me,- remember the old adage- “Lord, give me patience and give it to me NOW” well. that’s me. LOL! Jillian

  2. I have some goals next year. After reading Laura Diamond’s post today. I’m inspired to write them down.
    I’m still doing the happy dance for you, Danica. Wow, a contract. So stupendously awesome!!!

  3. Fugazzi a little too head-banging for me. But as for the new year-write two novels and self publish one. I’m all over JA Konrath’s blog and have a new grog debuting on January 1st all about quid pro quo with three other authors for the romance genre! Exciting!!! http://thewritersguidetoepublishing.com/ Be sure to check it out, Danica! I think you’ll like it!

  4. I didn’t find the song very relaxing. Interesting, though.

    You’re right about the God never giving you more than you can handle thing. Although, sometimes, He seems to test the limits, huh? *smile*

    One thing I like about that, though, is that I know He’s there walking me through whatever is thrown my way…both good and bad. 🙂 Along with my friends of course.

    Goals…not so much. Just taking it a day at a time . . . 🙂

    • Ah, maybe I’m just strange that I find it relaxing, LOL. Well, I know I wouldn’t be able to string words together without His help, so I take that into account when I’m thinking over my writing “career” 🙂

Leave a Reply

