What’s Playing Wednesday

This is the Christmas edition of What’s Playing Wednesday.

I don’t actually have this song on my MP3 player, but from the start of December through the New Year, it will pop in my mind with alarming frequency. The song is Please Come Home For Christmas by Charles Brown. Yeah, I know. It isn’t the most happy of holiday songs, but for me, this song is Christmas.

My parents divorced when I was very young and I spent every other weekend with my dad and his wife and family. I mentioned once on Jeffe Kennedy’s blog that although my mom did the Christmas tree decorating thing, it wasn’t a big deal for us. With my dad and stepmom though, it was a very big deal.

When I’d go over to help decorate the tree, my stepmom would be organizing the lights and ornaments while my dad played DJ. You see, he has hundreds and hundreds of 45’s (that would be records to the younger generation). Every time I went to his house, I would sift through the music of my parents’ youth. I was more familiar with The Coaster, Marth and the Vandellas, The Isley Brothers, Herman’s Hermits, The Beatles, and others than I was with New Kids on the Block (which I hated).

So back to Christmas. Dad would have out all of their Christmas 45’s. Elvis’ Blue Christmas, Ray Stevens’ Santa Claus is Watching You, and many others. But it was Please Come Home For Christmas that will always be the ultimate Christmas song for me. I don’t know why, really. It’s sad, but I think it’s the soul in Charles Brown’s voice that set its hooks in me and won’t let go. I could listen to this song constantly.

When I mentioned to my mom I was choosing this song, she said how she hadn’t heard that song in years. Then we both started singing it. I do love this song and I hope you do as well.

What’s your favorite Christmas song of all time, the one you could listen to over and over again and never grow bored with it?

10 Comments

Filed under What's Playing Wednesdays

10 responses to “What’s Playing Wednesday

  1. I love that song as well. Nice choice, my friend. My favorite of all time is Bing Crosby’s version of “Do you see what I see” Some of the newer “artists” have tried to make it their own and all they have done is butchered it. I’m a purist. Jillian

  2. I remember that song! Guess I’m old, ‘cuase I had 45’s when I was a kid. I also had a black and white TV. LOL. Great song choice. Christmas was a magical time at our house. Even in the few years when life was tough, Christmas was always amazing. I try to give the same kind of Christmas to my boys.

    The entire family is making sugar cookies tomorrow and taking them to the local firehouse for Christmas. They’re excited! 🙂

  3. Felicity

    I have a Christmas Carol that I leave on all of my cd’s and mixed playlists year round. Trans Siberian Orchestra and Metallica, “Carol of the Bells”. I absolutely love this song.

    As for the others, I have a family with a slightly twisted sense of humour so most of the carols that I listen to are the alternate versions. There’s a lot of Bob Rivers played at our house thist time of year. “Twelve Pains of Christmas” is a favourite of ours.

  4. Ohhh, this is an awesome song. I don’t really have a fave song of ALL time, but I have a few favorites for sure. But I can’t say which is my most fav since I’m counting down on my blog…LOL!

    I like this song. It just makes me smile!

  5. Love it! Even better than I somehow inspired you to post it.

Leave a Reply

