Christmas Countdown II

Day 2 of our Christmas countdown has me thinking about the weather. In south Louisiana, the chances of having a white Christmas are about the same as there being a blizzard in Hell, but it has happened. Once in my memory.

We weren’t expecting it. Of course, it isn’t like snow in this area is something we consciously think about. Christmas Eve, I picked up my godson to sleep at the house. It was bitterly cold, I remember that much. He was spending the night and the next day his mom and older brother would join us for a small Christmas dinner.

We were at the house watching A Christmas Story when my sister called in hysterics. It seems that her bathroom flooded and burnt out their heater. Or something like that. Of course, that meant she had to sleep at the house as well. Did I forget to mention my parran (now that I’ve taught y’all what parran means, I can use it instead of “godfather”) was there with his son? We have a 3 bedroom house and my brother lived with us at the time. It was a very tight fit that night, but it helped make Christmas seem more exciting.

Then we woke up on Christmas morning to see…snow? Was it really snow? Like children, every adult in the house (and the kids, of course), pulled on their warmest clothes and raced outside. It was beautiful! Big, fat snowflakes falling all over our yard. We played and played for hours, not caring that we couldn’t feel our fingers or toes anymore. We had snowball fights, finally having a chance to vent our youthful frustrations on our poor mother. My nephews were like little assassins, trying to take me and my sister out. It was the most fun I can remember having on Christmas day.

You see, I’d only seen snow once before. I was 12 and it was February. My brother and I played for hours. We had snowmen all over the yard like little soldiers (we didn’t so much snow we could make huge snowmen). We made snow angels, had snowball fights (of course), and generally prayed for the snow to remain. It didn’t, of course, but those days live in my memory.

But it was that one year we had snow on Christmas that I wish we could repeat. I’m not saying I’d love to live in snow year round, but as a special little treat, it can’t be beat. Look at me throwing out the rhymes! I feel positively inspired! LOL I know we won’t be having a white Christmas this year, but I can at least pull those memories from my cluttered brain and pretend.

For those of you who live in warmer climates, do you become a kid again when it snows? How about our more cold weather friends? Do you resent the snow, or do you still enjoy it?

19 Comments

Filed under Family

19 responses to “Christmas Countdown II

  1. My eldest asked Santa and Jesus (making sure to cover all bases) for snow one year. He woke up Christmas morning and raced downstairs saying, “I want to see the snow.” Of course, we tried to explain why it wouldn’t snow on Christmas morning in Atlanta, GA, but he didn’t listen. I waited anxiously in the kitchen with my arsenal of excuses ready for him. He didn’t appear for a few seconds, so I went to the front door to comfort him. He looked up at me with his sweet little blue eyes and said, “I told you so. You didn’t believe me, but I told you so!!!”
    Sure enough flakes fell from the sky, while sparse, it still appeared Jesus/Santa had brought his wish. He didn’t care about opening one present that year. ‘Cause he got his wish.

  2. I love it- I actually have traveled to places JUST for the snow! LOL!

    AND as my dad always said, “you’re a poet and don’t know it, but your feet show it, they’re Longfellows.” “cept you did know it! LOL! Jillian

  3. Whitley Gray

    Here in the Rocky Mountain west, it’s 17 degrees and three inches of snow on the ground. More by Thursday!
    The older I get, the less I like snow, other than the decorative value at Christmas.
    Fortunately, Wednesday’s “men” thaw us out!
    Happy Holidays,
    Whitley

  4. Felicity

    I live in Ontario, Canada, so snow is very much a part of my life in the winter season. I love the look of fresh fallen snow, especially at Christmas. For me, it’s just not Christmas if you don’t have a snow coated landscape. There’s just something about snow that adds to the magical feeling of the season.

    However… when you’ve shovelled the driveway for the sixth time that day and the snow is showing no sign of letting up… it begins to lose it’s charm. I would be quite happy to have snow for about two weeks; just before Christmas to just after New Years. Otherwise, I’d be happy to donate my share of the white stuff to those who would enjoy it.

  5. Whitley Gray

    Here in the Rocky Mountain west, it’s 17 degrees and three inches of snow on the ground. More by Thursday!
    The older I get, the less I like snow, other than the decorative value at Christmas.
    Fortunately, Friday’s “men” thaw us out!
    Happy Holidays,
    Whitley

  6. Hey – what year would that be you had snow? In 1989 or 1990 (my memory’s fried when it comes to remembering years) we were stationed at Ft. Rucker, AL. I told my parents to come out for Christmas (they live in So. Cal). Told them not to worry – it never snows there!

    Well that was the year it did snow. I don’t think my mother has forgiven me yet!

    I grew up in So. Cal, and snow was neat when I was a kid, but living in Alaska and New Jersey has really turned me off of snow. Living in Dayton isn’t helping any, either. But it is pretty, I’ll give it that. Just wish it weren’t cold and heavy (shoveling)!

    • It might’ve been 1990, come to think of it. I think my nephew had just been born and was only a few months old. It was such a shock. We must’ve had 6″ of snow that year, squee-worthy snow for a teenager, lol.

  7. I grew up in Minnesota and now live in Arizona. Let me just say. . . I love the desert MUCH more. But, when I lived in Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, and Minnesota, YES, I did become a big kid again with the snow.

    I love cactus decorated in Christmas lights now, though!

Leave a Reply

