Christmas Countdown

I’ll be honest folks, when I opened this post, I had no idea what to talk about. Then I realized Christmas is this week, so I have to at least give a nod to the holiday, right? So I’ve decided that this week I’ll share Christmas memories with y’all because I know how much y’all love to read about my crazy family.

The first memory I plan to share with you is from a Christmas when I was about thirteen. I’m not sure exactly how old I was, but it was one of those Christmases that will live forever in my memory. Not because I got everything I wanted, or it was snowing or something equally awesome. No it was because of my uncle.

You know the uncle with the strange pie eating habits? Well, we had a cold front come through on Christmas morning. It was bright, clear and crisp. Beautiful Christmasy type weather. Then my uncle showed up at the house looking…strange. It seems that his sinuses had done this weird shift that cause half of his face to freeze. You remember your parents telling you not to make that face cause it might get stuck when the wind changes? Well it happened to him.

Needless to say Christmas pictures that year were…not pretty. Poor Uncle Bubba. He would smile, but half of his face would stay drawn down and he looked a bit um, well he wasn’t at his prettiest. That’s all I’ll say. Luckily, his face returned to normal the next day, but when we start pulling out photo albums, we all point to those pictures and start talking about “Remember when Uncle B’s face was frozen? And he kept smiling and creeping out the kids? And his drinks kept dribbling out of his mouth?”

Okay, so we’re not the most sensitive people in the world. I can’t apologize for it because I love them all dearly.

I know there’s a name for what happened to him, but I can’t remember what it is. *hint, hint* Jillian? Do you know what it’s called? LOL

Have the rest of you ever seen something like this happen? It’s horrible really, but leave it to my unclel to have it happen for Christmas.

10 Comments

Filed under Family

10 responses to “Christmas Countdown

  1. Poor guy. You do have an interesting family. 🙂 Oh, the stories I could tell. I guess we all have family stories.
    Happy Holidays!

  2. Uncle Bubba-what a character. He might wind up in a book some day (but under an assumed name, of course).
    I remember feeding my cousin, who was 2 at the time, pickles and watching his little face. My brother and I thought it was hilarious, and his mom, who was holding him, couldn’t figure out what he was doing to cause all the stir.
    Thanks for the memories! Have a wonderful Holiday.

    • So far I’ve managed to resist putting Uncle Bubba in a book…but you’re right, he deserves to have a character take after him. It’s just a matter of finding the right one. And I used to love watching the kids taste lemons and stuff. We would cry from laughing so hard.

      Happy Holidays, Sharon!

  3. Love your family stories! OMW, they make me smile. All the family will be here this year, so I might have to venture into the whole “Christmas Picture” thing….I’m kinda scared, though.

    • We’re having a small Christmas this year compared to the last few years. Just my mom, my sister and her boys. I’m kind of glad because I just want to relax this weekend. Of course, this means New Years will be hectic, but oh well…start as you mean to go on and all that, LOL

  4. Been in Tallahassee so couldn’t come to your rescue til now- it could have been Bell’s palsy- or frigore facial paralysis. Glad to be of assistance and also glad for your uncle that it went away!

Leave a Reply

