Author Interview – Sayde Grace

Greetings readers! Today I’m at the hospital with my mom who’s having toe surgery. In lieu of one of my ever-so-fun rambling posts about nothing at all, I decided to track down and interrogate interview a very special lady. Sayde Grace is the author of the Built Cowgirl Tough series. She currently has two books in the series out right now with Wild Rose Press.

Take it away, Sayde!

Bio:
A native of South Alabama Sayde Grace was raised among the cotton fields and dirt roads of the south. She has a deep love and appreciation for the rural communities and uses her experiences of small town life in her books. A lifelong story teller, Sayde  began writing full time two years ago and has written five full length manuscripts which range from romantic suspense to young adult and even erotica. In each of her five books she uses her experiences in farming, ranching, or rodeoing to make the story setting believable. Growing up in the equine and cattle industry have given her a behind the scenes knowledge of the industry. Sayde is currently enjoying and loving life in beautiful South Alabama with her husband and two young children. She is published with The Wild Rose Press for two novella’s and working on a third.

Blurb:

Raised by parents who don’t believe in affection, Melanie Brantley developed a hard-edged outlook on life…and love. But then along comes a cowboy who makes her blood boil, and not only with anger. A fact that scares the hell out of her. Enough that she seeks solace at Minx, a club that caters to the more carnal pleasures.

After recovering from a bull ride gone wrong, Lance Wright is ready to move forward and he’s set his sights on Melanie. Her temper tells him all he needs to know about the passion he’d find in her bed. The wildcat fights him every step of the way, but she’s in for a surprise. The harder Melanie bucks, the more Lance wants to ride.

Okay Sayde! Here’s what I’ll do: give you lots of questions. If you want to skip some, go for it. I’ll probably post it on Sunday or Monday, pass you the link and have it ready to go for Tuesday morning. *rubs her hands together* Here we go!

Tell us a little about your writing. What inspires you to start a story? Do you read tea leaves, or rune stones? (Just asking!)
No tea leaves, or rune stones. No voodoo either. Most of the time I’ll be listening to the radio and a song will play. It’ll make me think about the love or desire between the characters in the song and spark something with me. That’s when I usually start plotting (yea, I said the P word what of it!). Or if I read a book and it ends wrong to me I will ask myself what it would have taken to make that book work for me. That’s when I start thinking about a setting, a plot, and characters that I could use to turn the romance that didn’t work for me into something that will.

You’re a southern girl after my own heart. Do you have a favorite place to visit in the south and why?
You know, I love visiting River Rd, Louisiana with all the plantations. I think that’s my favorite place. It’s so neat to think back and romanticize the past even though I know it was a harsh life. My grandfather was a huge farmer so I know exactly how hard farming can be but those homes, inspire all kinds of romantic ideas.
And I adore Fort Worth Texas. I had the chance to tour the Fort Worth Historic Stockyards before the renovation was complete and it was beyond neat. The history there is inspiring of all kinds of westerns. In fact one of my books is set in the Stockyards while another is in Oak Alley from Plantation Rd!!

You seem to have a wide range of writing interests! What appeals to you most? The genre, or the story and how do you choose which to write in?
Well,  I love writing and reading paranormal romances. I mean they are what I really do enjoy the most but my ideas seem to wonder into the already done area. I have two paranormal romances that I think stand out really well but we will just have to wait and see. For me I write erotic romances featuring cowboys the best. I rodeoed my entire life so I know a great deal about the equine and cattle industry so it’s easier for me to go into those life styles and give the characters all kind of wicked things to do in the entry fee both, or in a hospital bed after one gets hurt.

What’s the worst part of living in a small town? (Cause I want to make sure I’m not the only one who goes crazy because everyone’s in everyone else’s business!)
You are so not the only one who goes crazy. I think for me the worst part is staying out of the gossip. I love talking, so it’s really easy for me to listen and comment when someone is spreading gossip but then I have to stop myself because, NO I do not want to be that little old lady with blue hair who knows everything and everyone and is always spreading gossip while stroking one of her ten thousand cats. Nope not me!

What is your writing schedule like? Do you sit down to write when the muse beats you over the head, or do you write all the time regardless of creative juices? Doesn’t that just sound naughty?
You know I used to sit down just as soon as my daughter went to school in the morning and write most of the day. Now my son (who is 3) doesn’t allow me to do that. He’s needy. Plus my husband’s work schedule got changed and now it’s hard to write while trying to make sure my son isn’t tearing down the bedroom door while my husband sleeps so he can work that night. Rotating shifts can be a pain, but I’m hoping I’ll get back into my regular schedule soon! It’s killing me.

How many books do you plan for your Built Cowgirls Tough Series? Your Wicked Cowboys Series (are they connected)?
My Built Cowgirl Tough series will end with four. Originally I’d thought to end it at three but then needed a book to introduce my Wicked Cowboys. In my last cowgirl book you’ll meet my wicked cowboys and their ranch. These series are connected through one couple who will run the ranch.  In the Wicked Cowboy series I have no idea how many cowboys I’ll end up with. I mean its Texas, the possibilities are endless!!

Cowboys, cowboys, and more cowboys! The Built Cowgirls Tough Series has some Alpha cowboys in them. Do you know cowboys like this? Just asking cause uh, if you do, are they single? 😉
You are so bad!! But I love it. On the biblical basis, no I don’t know them. On a friendship level I did know a few.  But no, they are now happily married. Sorry!!!

I stalk follow you on Twitter and I’ve seen you tweet about the many manuscripts you have in the works. How many projects do you work on at once, and do you find it hard to concentrate on more than one project at a time?
I currently have about five projects either in rewrites or started. I find it very hard to concentrate on one at a time. But the great thing is that when I get stuck or bored (this happens often) I can open another project up and write on it for awhile and usually my head clears enough that I get unstuck. And if you’re stalking me on twitter I guess it’s a mutual stalking, um following J!!

We’ve had a conversation at Nationals about a special um, party you went to for one of your chapters. Have you used what you learned in your books? (Give me allll the juicy details!)
Ok, I’ll tell everyone about the party that I went to. At RWA nationals the Passionate Ink Chapter had a reception/party. Now the PIC chapter is made up of erotic romance writers. The reception was very well catered and I got to sit with Angela Knight. Now after they announced the winners to the Passionate Ink’s contest they had a presenter talk. Boy of BOY I was not prepared for the speaker. Lol, it turned out to be a young lady who was extremely nice who did a presentation on the living the BDSM lifestyle. She gave us tons of examples of types of submissives, Doms, and things they do to each other. I’m pretty open minded and write about things that shouldn’t make me blush but oh man this DID!! My face was so red, but she gave us great insight to it all. In fact she even did a few examples. One she made a young lady from the audience be blind folded and kneel in front of her by command. SHOCKED!! Yes, I’m way innocent!

 

But you know what, she told us some things that about BDSM stuff that we find in books that is not real. I mean, I guess it could be but she informed us that most of what you read in books about people living a “true” bdsm life is not real. I have kept that in mind while writing one of my books because the main character (another cowboy) is into that life and is trying to introduce my heroine to it.

What’s up next for Sayde Grace?
Next I will be publishing an urban fatansy that falls into the erotic side with Siren Publishing and their Siren Classic line. I’m super excited to be with a new publisher and seeing the difference between publishing houses. The tentative release date for Untamable is April 2011 which I believe our lovely host will also be releasing a book that month as well as our friend author Jillian Chantall.

 

What’s your favorite movie of all time? You know, the one you will watch time and time again because it’s so good. Please tell me there are sexy men in it!
Ok, is John Wayne sexy? I know his son is, or was. I have no idea what his son looks like now but my favorite movie of all time is Mcklintock. John Wayne turns kinda way alpha in it as does his son who plays Devlin Warren. Maybe that’s why all my hero’s are alpha and cowboys!!

*******

 

All right, in the honor of the holiday season I’m giving away a digital copy of your choice between either Riding Double (ménage) or my new release The Harder They Buck. All you have to do is leave a comment about what intrigues you the most when reading a book, whether it’s erotic romance or mainstream. Thanks so much for stopping by to read the fabulous questions that the awesome Danica Avet gave me! And to our lovely host, thank you so much for letting me drop by!

And just for Danica, a cowboy with tattoos!

And for everyone else!

Thanks again and have fun telling us what intrigues you the most!

Me:

For more info on Sayde please stop by http://saydegrace.com http://twitter.com/saydegrace/ or for purchasing her books you may do so on Amazon All Romance Ebooks The Wilder Rose Press or Siren Publishing

All righty folks! Be sure to leave a comment for Sayde and she’ll pick a winner! I’m leaving the comments open until Thursday, so be sure to tell your friends. Thank you, Sayde, for stopping by!!

18 Comments

Filed under Author Interviews

18 responses to “Author Interview – Sayde Grace

  1. Great interview. Boy, what do I love in a book the most? It has to be the characters. I mean, I can overlook little plotting holes or writing style issues if I’m totally and completely in love with a character. My fav type of character is a harsh, angry hero or heroine, who has a hidden soft side, though, that sneaks out once in a while. I just love those characters! 🙂

    Thanks for the post. Have a great day!

  2. Squee! Two of my favorite ladies on one blog!!!
    For anyone out there wondering if they should read Sayde’s stuff, let me say,l “YES!!!” Her stories are funny, realistic, and HAWT! You’ll love em!
    Keep writing, chica!

  3. I love a big, bad, tough alpha male. And the heroine who knocks him on his butt. Excellent interview here, ladies! 🙂

  4. Hey Sayde!! Nice to see you! Jillian

  5. Wow, tough question. If a romance, I need a real connection with sexual tension. I LOVE a creative plot though. Although, the characters must be real on the page, I want their relationship to grow out of the plot organically. Not just because they see each other and their heart thumps out of their chest. Ya know what I mean. 🙂

  6. Pingback: What’s Playing Wednesday « Unearthly Musings

  7. Intriguing, hmmm….Well, I want a hot hero, that will bend when he needs to, but won’t take any of a heroine’s flack. A heroine that is strong, but not stupid. And a plot that moves quickly with enough heat to keep my attention. I really like for the main characters to stay together as much as possible. It’s hard to believe a love story if the two aren’t ever together. Thanks for sharing and your stories sound fabulous!!!

Leave a Reply

