Cry Baby

It was an interesting weekend. I spent most of the weekend cleaning house, re-reading some of my favorite books, and brainstorming a new book. Fortunately, all three endeavors were successful. I have a wonderful idea for a new story and can’t wait to get started on it, so my current WIP had better hurry up and come to an end!

The only thing I didn’t count on was the Lifetime Channel. Saturday night, I’d just finished a book and it was getting close to bedtime, but I still had time to kill. Instead of starting yet another book, I decided to watch a movie. Of course because I decided it was time to lose myself in the television, nothing good was on. Then I saw I could catch the end of P.S. I Love You.

I’ve never seen this movie before and yes, shame on me because my man is in it. But that’s okay. I actually don’t watch romance movies (which is ironic since I read them like crazy), and after watching the end of this movie, I only justified my reasons for not watching romances. Yes, I cried. I only watched the last twenty minutes of the movie and ended up sobbing. Dammit.

This isn’t the first time it’s happened though. Oh, no. When I was in college, I took a break from studying for finals and caught the part in City of Angels when Meg Ryan’s character dies. Yeah. Sobs and much snot. Then again, a few years later, I was up at the god awful hour of three a.m. and was waiting for some old movie to come on. And while waiting for that movie to come on, I saw the end of Wuthering Heights. Yeah, when Catherine died. I shouldn’t have even paused on this movie because I hated the book, but there you have it.

Yes, before you ask, I have cried for many books. Those I haven’t cried for, sometimes leave me with this sharp pain in my chest. The black moments just about kill me and sometimes I wish I could just cry it out, even though I absolutely hate crying. I feel idiotic to sit there with tears rolling down my face and nothing to show for it but a book or a movie, but there you have it.

I suppose I should blame my dad for this character…flaw? Yeah, he’s a crier. There are some movies he’ll never watch again because he cries so much. Unless I absolutely love the movie, I have my own list of movies I’ll never watch again because of the crying. And I won’t watch dramas with my sister. There isn’t enough tissue in the world to share between us. It’s like when someone vomits and other people feel sympathy nausea. With my sister, if she starts crying, I’m going to start crying and vice versa. It’s just the way it goes.

So I spent Saturday night crying my eyes out for a movie I didn’t even watch all the way through. Have you done this? Have you had the misfortune to catch a movie at its black moment and find yourself reaching for the tissues? Do you cry for books? Have you ever cried for your own books? (Yeah, I did that too with my latest manuscript. I didn’t let the tears fall, but they were there and I felt so proud of myself! LOL)

7 Comments

Filed under humor

7 responses to “Cry Baby

  1. OH man. I hated City of Angels for that very reason. Horrible ending! Grrrrr. OH yes, I can cry at a book or movie, but I haven’t cried at many books. Just a few. Movies, heck yeah. I’ve cried many times!!! Especially if it’s got something to do with the death of a spouse.

    Yikes. That’s, like, my biggest fear ever is to have my hubby die. So, those hit me hard, and I do try and avoid those types of movies, but if one slips in, yep, I bawl!

  2. I’m normally not a crier, but I recently read a YA novel that had me in tears the whole time. I’m serious, this book touched me. I can’t share the title yet, and it’s not published, but as soon as it is, I’ll scream and shout for the author. PS. I cried for this movie too!

  3. My husband and I laugh because I NEVER cried before I had kids. Now I can cry at a commercial. LOL. Yes, I’ve cried while typing out a scene in a book. One of them hurt so bad, I didn’t want to edit it. I wanted to skip it and go to the happily ever after part. 🙂

  4. I cry- yep. I do it. It’s rare that I go to or see a movie where I don’t cry. Being an empath, I even share the moods of the people on screen. Sometimes it’s embarassing!

Leave a Reply

