Fantasy Man Friday & Author Interview: Jillian Chantal

What a week!! Yesterday, I announced some wonderful news, but it didn’t hit me until later what it really means! SirenBookStrand is where a lot of my writer friends are, so I’ll be joining up with several wonderful people, like the lady I interviewed this week!

I’m so pleased to have my dear friend, Jillian Chantal, with me today for a special edition of Fantasy Man Friday. Jillian has a brand new book out which she’ll tell us a bit about as well as some more books on the way. Be sure to leave a comment!

Now for Jillian!

The Bio:

Jillian Chantal is the nom de plume of a lawyer moonlighting as a writer of romantic fiction.  She has PRO status in the RWA and is an active member of the Gulf Coast Chapter of the Romance Writer’s of America where she currently serves as treasurer and chairman of the 2012 Silken Sands Conference.

 The Blurb:

Emma Chauncey finds her fiancé naked with one of her bridesmaids on top of him three days before her wedding. Burned by the experience, she takes a friend on her honeymoon. They travel to an Italian villa where Emma plans to nurse her broken heart. Wealthy, titled, and handsome, women’s shoe designer Dario DeLuca is also at the villa. In disguise as a dance instructor, he’s determined to find a woman to love him for himself, not his wealth and title. Sparks fly between Emma and Dario, until she learns his true identity. Hurt that another man has lied to her, and distrusting her own judgment, she flees. Dario follows her to New York. But Emma’s former fiancé is back with an agenda of his own. Can Dario convince Emma he’s the man for her even though he lied about his identity? Can he convince her she deserves true love? 

Thanks for inviting me to blog with you today, Danica. I’m thrilled to be here with you and your readers on this Fantasy Man Friday. I’m excited to share my day with such a hunk. You keep us in hot men, for sure and I, for one, am grateful.

What was your inspiration for Solo Honeymoon? Have you been to Italy? Is there an Italian man now singing a mournful ballad in your name? 
I have been to Italy. I took four years of Latin in high school. I fell in love with the culture and history. When I was 19, I spent a month in Europe and, among other places, I got to visit Rome, Florence and Verona. I didn’t find Romeo in Verona, but I DID have a guy flash me in Rome near the Castello Sant”Angelo. I somehow doubt he’s pining for me- he and his buds were playing soccer and yelled at me, I turned to look at them, and boom, there was a penis. I turned away and could hear them laughing.

The inspiration for my hero in Solo Honeymoon was totally not that dude. I think I have to say my hero was inspired by my friend that’s a ballroom dancer. Her instructor is Italian and he’s got some great moves. He’s not as handsome as Dario, my hero, but he’s slim and entrancing to watch.

Why international romance? I’m going to take a wild guess that you’ve traveled a lot (because I’m a genius). Where have you been? What’s your favorite place to visit? Do you feel like there’s a spotlight shining in your face? Bwahahaha
You are a genius, Danica. Absolutely a genius.  My father was part of a hush-hush government group and we traveled all the time, one step ahead of the KGB.  Oh, no, wait, that’s one of my novels. We DID travel a lot when I was a kid and so I got bitten by the travel bug and love, love it. I adore England and Austria. But truly, anywhere is fun.  Last year, I was in Cabo San Lucas, Mazatlan, and Puerto Vallarta. I think there’s a story there. Enjoyed an “I can’t drive 55” drink at Sammy Hagar’s bar in Cabo. It’s called Cabo Wabo.  Way cool place- live band, strong drinks and a bar covered in bras. Yep, there’s a story there, for sure.

What’s your writing routine like? Do you write in full evening wear complete with boa and martini? I ask because I like the boa idea, but not so much the martini. I’m all about the Jack Daniels (which is why I don’t drink and write). 
No, no. I don’t have a boa. I have a cobra and he lolls about my neck, periodically licking my cheek. He’s quite cute but doesn’t care for Jack Daniels. Once in a while, he’ll demand a gin and tonic but that’s cool.

What’s the best part of writing? Is it the big fat paychecks, or getting the chance to “research” sexy international men for your hero’s inspiration? *cough*
Well, duh, babe- it’s the sexy men!  AND the fact that I can make them say what I want them to say. You know, fictional men are much more pliable than the real ones in my house. I’m surrounded by testosterone all the time, but I can’t make them behave. They tend to get sassy around here.

What is your idea of a perfect hero?
Truthfully, a loyal man. One that will be there through thick and thin. Reliability may not be sexy but it’s what I like. And nice forearms and strong thighs don’t hurt, either.

I know you’re an attorney; have you ever had a book idea from a case you worked on?
Yea. I mine the craziness I hear all the time for ideas. I’m a regular little dwarf in the gem mine.  The fact that truth is stranger than fiction is very, very true. I haven’t written a complete book about any particular case but I have certainly used bits and bobs throughout my work.

You’re quite the fountain of knowledge with your Friday Fun Facts. Do you have all of that information jammed in your head waiting to be plucked out? See, I tell everyone I know everything, just not all at once. You really do seem to know everything. Tell me your secrets, O Great One!
I came up with the idea of Friday Facts precisely because I have soooo much crap in my head that needs to come out. So, yep, it’s all there in the old bean.  I have to confess, I read the encyclopedia in high school. The whole thing- a to z. Britannica, the hard one. Yep, geek is me.  I’m also what’s called an auditory learner. I hear something and I retain it. It’s both a blessing and a curse.

Who are some of your favorite authors of all time? I’m talking, you squee when you know they’re going to be having a book signing.
First thing, I never squee. It’s not dignified. *snort* (but snorting is).
My favs are not who you’d think. It’s Dean Koontz and Martha Grimes. Neither one a romance writer. In fact, I sent my son to get Martha’s autograph when she was in Delray Beach at a book signing. It’s like 5 miles from where he’s in college. She signed it to “Jillian, who has a wonderful son.” I loved it.  Favorite romance writer: Lauren Willig.

What do you do in your spare time? You know, when you’re not jet-setting around the world in the search for romance and adventure (and not necessarily in that order)?  
Spare time is spent writing usually. I also scrapbook and am a movie hound.

What is your favorite movie?
I adore Young Frankenstein. It’s just priceless. So funny!  I also love any movie with Alan Rickman in it. He’s amazing and just a wonderful actor.

What’s next for Jillian Chantal? What projects are you currently working on, and do you have any new releases we should be on the look out for?
I have a new release with SirenBookStrand in April 2011. It’s a romantic suspense called Surfer Bride. It’ll also be released as a print book in September 2011.

Redemption for the Devil, a historical adventure based in 1920, will be released in July 2011, by Desert Breeze Publishing.

I’m currently working on a bi-racial romantic suspense with a former Green Beret as the hero. The working title is Obsession. My villain in this one is the worst one I’ve written so far. I get a headache when I’m in that particular head. LOL!

Thanks so much for letting me drop in, Danica. I appreciate and love you.  In honor of this visit and to commemorate the release of Solo Honeymoon, and my yummy shoe designer hero, Dario De Luca, I’d like to give away a shoe charm to one of your commenters.  Just leave me a comment on your favorite place to visit. Let me know where you’d like to have a romantic tryst for a chance to win.

To help y’all figure out where you’d like to go for a romantic tryst, how about a little inspiration? Cause…you know, it’s Fantasy Man Friday and we’ve gotta have a sexy man on Fridays. It’s mandatory. How about this guy?

Nom, nom, nom…I’m thinking my romantic tryst with Joe here would be anywhere with a flat surface…like a wall, or the ground, or a table…bed…I don’t think it matters as long as those jeans come off. *growls*

Be sure to leave a comment. They’ll be open all weekend and Jillian will pick a winner to be announced on Monday! Happy Friday all and have a great weekend!

57 Comments

Filed under Author Interviews, fantasy man friday

57 responses to “Fantasy Man Friday & Author Interview: Jillian Chantal

  1. OOH LALALA, Ciao mia amica, you have chosen a che bell’uomo for this Fantasy Friday!! I appreciate him, molto- And I also appreciate you inviting me here!
    As to my bio that you posted, “technically” I don’t take over as treasurer of my chapter til January. I updated my web site early *blushes* Jillian

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Fantasy Man Friday & Author Interview: Jillian Chantal « Unearthly Musings -- Topsy.com

  3. I was just about to complain as the picture didn’t come up when it was meant to but catastrophe averted… (it’s the only reason I frequent this place you know!) and now I can nom nom too!!

    Great interview btw 🙂

  4. I was in the middle of LOLing at you two when I got to the man. Jaw dropped oooohhhh my. Very nice.

    Places to visit. When I grew up we spent a lot of time on West Point Lake on the Georgia/Alabama line. It’s still one of my favorite places to visit.

    Danica I also used to love to visit my Aunt and Uncle in Louisiana. My Uncle had cabin out on Pearl River could only get there by boat. Glad no one told me about sankes and gators in the river. Good memories.

    Great interview. Solo Honeymoon is a great book. Can’t wait to read more books by Jillian

  5. Happy Friday!! Thanks for the interview. Congrats, Jillian on your release. How exciting.

  6. Jillian, you had me at ITALY. I’ve backpacked all over Europe and LOVE Italy. *sigh*

  7. Awesome interview, Jillian! I snort and squeel–can’t help it! Wishing you the very best with your releases!

  8. Xandra- thanks for coming back to tell us your tryst place. Great choice and if this guy has a better looking brother, I might have to faint! In ecstasy, of course. Jillian

  9. Joe, huh? That’s a good thing. Who would want to waste breath on a long, complicated Italian name! Breathing would be more necessary for other things! LOL

    I have two places, polar opposites. One is the Big Bear River in the wilds of Canada. The other is the easily accessible Cayman Islands. Cayman Brac has some of the best scuba diving I’ve ever done. Just sun, sea, sand and 500 pound tortoises! (Don’t beep the horn trying to hurry them across the road either! They just draw up in their shells!)

    Congrats, Jillian! Love your writing, and glad to see you in multiple places!

    And GO DANICA on the series! How did I not hear earlier?!? My feelings are hurt. All five of them!! LOL

    • I’m in absolute agreement with you, Runere!

      And thank you!! I don’t think I actually tweeted it or anything *thinks* I was in so much shock, I was afraid to tweet, I think. Hm.

    • Joe in Italian is Zeppe- it is the nickname for Giuseppe which is Joseph in Italian- see, Danica- I DO have too much crap in my head.

      Thanks Runere for the compliment on my writing- and both of your favorite places sound awesome! And I think I know who you’d go with!

  10. I love your inspiration! Rome may be my favorite city on the planet, certainly it’s the most romantic, even more so than Paris!
    I also love the fact that you’re a lawyer writing romance…or are you a romance writer moonlighting as a lawyer? In either case, you must have plenty of experiences stored up to write about! Good luck!

  11. Great interview! I love, love, love stories that involve people traveling to exciting locations and finding love, or themselves. Congrats on your release!

  12. Hey! Doesn’t your Fantasy Man Friday play Alcide on TRUE BLOOD? It sure looks like him, anyway (abs and all!).

    As for my favorite vacation place, I can’t come up with anything. I loved growing up in Santa Barbara (which is basically a vacation spot for other people!), so maybe I’d pick there. Plus, I’d have a free place to stay!

    • Yes, he is! Joe Manganiello…isn’t he gorgeous? And aren’t those jeans like…really tight? *fans herself* He’s of Italian/Sicilian descent, which is why I picked him for Jillian’s interview.

      LOL, great choice! Who said you have to travel all over the world for a tryst?

    • Santa Barbara is lovely- thanks for dropping in and picking such a neat place.

  13. Briggs

    Great interview and nice blurb.

  14. Danica- Briggs IS Married, right??????????????????? *giggle*

  15. Pingback: Fantasy Man Friday & Author Interview: Jillian Chantal (via Unearthly Musings) « Live, Love, Laugh & Blog

  16. OMG I love Joe!! He’s the reason(well Eric too) that I watch True Blood!! Great and hilarious interview Jillian!! Congrats on the release and upcoming ones as well!!

  17. Susan Serigny

    My favorite place to visit is currently Humble, TX where my grandchildren live. This may change with new developments.

    Where would be my favorite place for a tryst? Paris, of course.

    And that hunky guy just goes to show that it’s okay to look, no matter how old you are!

  18. Solo Honeymoon sounds like a great read! And man, do I loves me some True Blood werewolf hotness. Alcide is one of my favorite characters!

  19. Sorry so late! I hope you had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

